iTunes cannot read the contents of the iPhone v anyoen know how to fix this?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by f00l, Jan 4, 2010.

  1. f00l

    f00l Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    25,582
    Likes Received:
    4
    just tried to add some music to my phone for work and now i got this message from itunes

    anyone know hwo to fix this?

    i just goggled and people talk about some command line thingy but i have no clue what to do
     
  2. evolution

    evolution New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver/Toronto/HK
    I'm trying to figure out how to add songs from multiple computers too. Was able to do it with the Nano. Will jail breaking make it possible to do this?
     
  3. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    you can add songs from any computer, but you can only sync to one computer i that makes any sense...
     
  4. f00l

    f00l Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    25,582
    Likes Received:
    4
    i am not trying to add music from another computer

    i am getting this from the computer i usually use but all they don't explain how to fix this error step by step

    one of them is your supposed to type

    rm -r /var/mobile/Media in terminal comandline but i have no clue what that is
     
  5. evolution

    evolution New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver/Toronto/HK
    How do I do that? :hs: I have 3.1 and itunes9, googled but found so many solutions not sure which one works. :o
     
  6. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    For iPods that allow manually manage music, but the iPhone requires syncing to transfer music and such so you can't. Unless there is something i'm missing, I have yet to find a way to do this.

    I'm not sure about the OP's error message, but could you post screenshots or even a step by step?
     
  7. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    I do it on my ipod touch so I assumed it was the same way...

    either way, how I do it is on my main sync computer, I tell it to let me manage my music manually. then i can plug it into any computer and it'll show up in itunes, then i just drag music on to it.

    if i sync with my main computer, it'll lose anything that's not on that system...
     
  8. evolution

    evolution New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver/Toronto/HK
    Too bad, guess not even with jail breaking? I only use my iphone for mp3s, guess I have to trade it for a touch.
     
  9. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    iPods work, but for some reason the iPhone doesn't work the same way (maybe because of the phone stuff? not sure)
     

Share This Page