SRS Its ok to be happy????

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Paulie Walnuts, Mar 7, 2007.

1. Paulie Walnuts

Paulie Walnuts Im an agent of chaos

My fiance told me that today and it got me thinking. My life has been so far in the shitter over the last year that now when I have moments of what I would call happiness, like right now, they feel odd. I am so addicted to being depressed I now when I feel happy I equate it to when normal people suffer bouts of depression. What a strange life I live

2. busydoingnothing

busydoingnothing A broken man too tough to cry

Brother, you speak the truth. I am so used to being depressed that it's odd when I get happy, and I don't want it to go away, but I know it's inevitable. I am addicted to the pain and misery, to feeling like a victim. A former friend of mine said that while some people get depressed, I get happy.

3. Paulie Walnuts

Isnt it odd? I look back and I just wonder what the fuck is wrong with me and why can I not kick this.

4. Gregsaidthat

Gregsaidthat "Individuality is the new conformity"

Don't look back! Just look at what you have coming towards you in life. Forget the past. Just look at the good memories you have if they're any!

5. 7960

7960 New Member

why do people ask "is it ok to be happy?" like there's something wrong with it?

6. sportsjunkie

sportsjunkie OT Supporter

because if you've lived a life of sadness and everyone around you has as well and that's all you're exposed to, then you wonder "is it ok to be happy"

sometimes if people are too emotional (when it comes to being happy), some people look down upon that.

7. dontdothat

dontdothat Guest

:wavey: Of course it's ok to be happy :bigthumb: ... but as odd as it seems some people are in fact "happier" as in, comfortable/at peace being depressed. Sometimes being happy is too much of a change for someone that it's easier being down. My only advice, try to not let it affect your entire life or your relationships in big ways.

8. 7960