SRS It feels like too much!

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Tornado6, Jun 27, 2005.

1. Tornado6

Tornado6 When the wind set down in funnel form and pulled y

I'm a divorced mother of one. I've planned all year to flip-flop custody of my son with my ex-husband. He hasn't been doing as well as he could in school, my ex hasn't been sending him lunch money, and he's kept out late on school nights, and he was tardy about three days per week because my ex just simply wasn't getting him out of bed and to school on time. He's starting fourth grade this year, and it is definately time to get him back on track.

(Back story - my ex stayed in the old house, so my son could stay at the same school while I went back to college. We'd always loosely planned to switch custody after I graduated and wrote that into the divorce papers. We have joint legal custody, so this isn't exactly a "custody" battle.)

Within the next month, I need to move to a new apartment in a somewhat unfamiliar part of town so that I live within the boundaries of my son's elementary school. (Don't want to force him to chage schools again right now.) The complex we want into is pressuring us hard to take a more expensive apartment. My son starts school on August 16th, so we can't afford to dork around with them forever, but we also don't want to be railroaded. We're already going to have to double-up our rent for August because our current lease isn't up until September 1st.

This morning, I took the Amendment to the custody agreement to my ex-husband, and he refused to sign it. We'd previously agreed to everything on it verbally. He didn't want to discuss it in front of our son, so now I have NO idea what is going on. I don't even know if it is just something little on the paper that he's balking at, or if he's changing his mind overall about the whole situation. (Which will force us into court, something we've never done before, and it will force me to borrow money from my parents for the lawyer.)