IT crew, easiest way to convert a win2k terminal server to a virual machine?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Spinkick, Jan 26, 2009.

  1. Spinkick

    Spinkick Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    27,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    Guys,

    Id like to take an old ass win2k terminal server and throw it on a vmware server virtual machine (free edition). What's the easiest way to do it?
     
  2. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
  3. Spinkick

    Spinkick Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    27,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI
  4. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    Make sure when you convert it to do the hardware to the level that the free one can run. I converted one once and put the hardware level up too high and had to redo it.
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have Norton Ghost at your disposal, use it to backup the Terminal Server's hard drive and then restore it into a VM that you created for that purpose.
     
  6. blinger

    blinger Guest

    .


    this is an easy way of doing it
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's also more likely to succeed, in my experience. I've never successfully used the VMware converter to create a virtual machine that could boot.
     
  8. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
  9. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    srsly?
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I dunno, maybe I've just had bad luck, but every machine I've converted using Ghost has worked fine, and every machine I've converted using VMware Converter has bluescreened on bootup.
     
  11. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Weird. I've never done it with Ghost. I've used Converter a shitload and haven't had a problem.
     

Share This Page