Issues with metadb's

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by RiSk, Dec 29, 2007.

  1. RiSk

    RiSk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6,564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irving, Texas
    Okay so I am relatively nub at setting up metadb's (glue) I am working on setting of a software raid for Sol10 i am at the point of creating the metadb's

    all my reading says I need to use some thing like

    Code:
    metadb -f -c 2 /dev/dsk/c0t1d0s2
    
    creating to replication db's for the 2nd slice but I get a
    Code:
    metadb: smithers: c0t1d0s2: overlaps with c0t1d0s0 which is mounted as '/'
    
    now with this being said do I need a whole other partition that will server as a space for the DB reps? I have attempted to do the same command on the 2nd disk and it works but its format schematics are the same

    Code:
    -bash-3.00# format
    Searching for disks...done
    
    
    AVAILABLE DISK SELECTIONS:
           0. c0t0d0 <SEAGATE-ST336607LC-0004 cyl 49780 alt 2 hd 2 sec 720>
              [email protected],[email protected][email protected],0
           1. c0t1d0 <SEAGATE-ST336607LC-0004 cyl 49780 alt 2 hd 2 sec 720>
              [email protected],[email protected][email protected],0
    Specify disk (enter its number): 0
    selecting c0t0d0
    [disk formatted]
    format> verify
    
    Primary label contents:
    
    Volume name = <        >
    ascii name  = <SEAGATE-ST336607LC-0004 cyl 49780 alt 2 hd 2 sec 720>
    pcyl        = 49782
    ncyl        = 49780
    acyl        =    2
    nhead       =    2
    nsect       =  720
    Part      Tag    Flag     Cylinders         Size            Blocks
      0       root    wm    2913 - 48322       31.18GB    (45410/0/0) 65390400
      1       swap    wu       0 -  2912        2.00GB    (2913/0/0)   4194720
      2     backup    wm       0 - 49779       34.18GB    (49780/0/0) 71683200
      3       home    wm   48323 - 49779        1.00GB    (1457/0/0)   2098080
      4 unassigned    wu       0                0         (0/0/0)            0
      5 unassigned    wu       0                0         (0/0/0)            0
      6 unassigned    wu       0                0         (0/0/0)            0
      7 unassigned    wu       0                0         (0/0/0)            0
    
    format> disk
    
    
    AVAILABLE DISK SELECTIONS:
           0. c0t0d0 <SEAGATE-ST336607LC-0004 cyl 49780 alt 2 hd 2 sec 720>
              [email protected],[email protected][email protected],0
           1. c0t1d0 <SEAGATE-ST336607LC-0004 cyl 49780 alt 2 hd 2 sec 720>
              [email protected],[email protected][email protected],0
    Specify disk (enter its number)[0]: 1
    selecting c0t1d0
    [disk formatted]
    Warning: Current Disk has mounted partitions.
    format> verify
    
    Primary label contents:
    
    Volume name = <        >
    ascii name  = <SEAGATE-ST336607LC-0004 cyl 49780 alt 2 hd 2 sec 720>
    pcyl        = 49782
    ncyl        = 49780
    acyl        =    2
    nhead       =    2
    nsect       =  720
    Part      Tag    Flag     Cylinders         Size            Blocks
      0       root    wm    2913 - 48322       31.18GB    (45410/0/0) 65390400
      1       swap    wu       0 -  2912        2.00GB    (2913/0/0)   4194720
      2     backup    wm       0 - 49779       34.18GB    (49780/0/0) 71683200
      3       home    wm   48323 - 49779        1.00GB    (1457/0/0)   2098080
      4 unassigned    wm       0                0         (0/0/0)            0
      5 unassigned    wm       0                0         (0/0/0)            0
      6 unassigned    wm       0                0         (0/0/0)            0
      7 unassigned    wm       0                0         (0/0/0)            0
    
    format> quit
    
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2007
  2. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    you never want to use slice 2 for anything in solaris. that is the whole disk. you should just setup a slice with 2 or 3 sectors in it because the metadbs are really small. oh, and yes, you are going to need a separate partition for your metadbs and you should have them on both drives. so, make another partition on slice 4, then make drive 2 match completely. then make metadbs on c0t0d0s4 and c0t1d0s4.
     
  3. RiSk

    RiSk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6,564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irving, Texas
    Okay so I nee to basically reinstall the box (this is a test box) and add a 4th partition just for the Metadb's?

    And please forgive I am a Solaris nubby, I am a Linux sysadm most of the time and we dont have slices and what not
     
  4. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    well... you don't need to reinstall. you can just reduce the size of your home partition, though anything stored in there will be lost if you don't back it up. like i said, you only need 2 or 3 blocks. i think you only need a few Mb of space for the metadbs.
     

Share This Page