Issues since upgrading to Leopard...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by GearHead, Nov 8, 2007.

  1. GearHead

    GearHead Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,963
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Murrika
    Alright, I love Leopard. A lot. It kicks a ton of ass. But there are a few things that are about to drive me abso-fucking-lutely batshit crazy.

    For calrity's sake, here is my setup:

    -15" MacBook Pro, 2.4 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 200 GB HDD
    -22" Samsung SyncMaster 226BW LCD Display
    -750 GB Maxtor External HDD (attached via FW400)
    -Apple Wirleless Keyboard (new one)
    -Logitech mouse (uses IR and plugs in using USB)

    1) This is the biggie...after I put my machine to sleep (either by closing the lid or going through the menu), I wake it up (which sometimes just doesn't work...but I guess that is a separate issue) and bam. No mouse. I can see that icon still and my keyboard works just fine...but the damned pointer will not move. It does not respond to either my movements with the external mouse OR the built in trackpad. I have to restart every time that this happens.

    2) iTunes. I will play a song and sometimes it plays just fine...other times, it will play and then randomly "pop"(as in it will pause for a millisecond and resume play...almost like someone muted and then unmuted the volume in a series of about half a second). The songs affected include ones ripped from my iPod from Senuti, ones purchased after the Leopard upgrade, and ones obtained via torrent/Usenet.

    That is all I can think of right now...but I think there will be more.
     
  2. Lucky_721

    Lucky_721 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Monica
    I have noticed the "pop" phenomena in itunes as well. It is annoying.
     
  3. _Trev_

    _Trev_ Ya gotta pay the troll toll... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    47,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    I've had ssues with safari, which isn't a big problem considering I use Camino primarily, but it's still a little annoying. I think I'm going to do a clean install next weeks
     
  4. B7R

    B7R New NASCAR Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    7,651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Oz
    Only problem I've had so far is Missing Sync not working fully with Leopard.
     
  5. NightyNight

    NightyNight OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    7,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get the fucking pop on my iPod classic sometimes, drives me nuts. :run:
     
  6. kamikaze

    kamikaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    33,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie Ontario
    my smb shares wouldn't work at home, for about a week. Now all of a sudden they work fine, just like the smb shares that have worked since day one at work.

    Oh, and no bluetooth in Address Book is fucking stupid.
     
  7. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,756
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i haven't had any trouble yet, except for visual hub hangs when encoding this certain file...but that might not be related to leopard

    one day firefox never started up, it just kept bouncing and bouncing, but restarting fixed that.
    also, my college has wifi that uses leap. for some reason it thought it was only wep, so i had to fix my connection
     
  8. Ariez

    Ariez OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    64,050
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    Nue Yawk
    Upgrade or clean?

    Apparently it matters a lot....:dunno:

    I did upgrade on Macbook and clean on MBP....have some issues with the upgrade but it somehow resolved itself.
     
  9. iridium130

    iridium130 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA --> Denver, CO
    I did archive/install on my iMac C2D 24...I'm getting the umbrella pinwheel a lot lately doing simple tasks (playing a song in iTunes :wtf: )
     
  10. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,756
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i did an upgrade, but my system was in pretty good shape beforehand
     
  11. The1Ash10

    The1Ash10 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    13,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    what? The bluetooth in address doesn't work in 10.5?
     
  12. The1Ash10

    The1Ash10 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    13,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    I did the upgrade and it seems fine for the most part. No "real" issues. Although, it seems like it take the application folder longer to load than it did before. :dunno:
     
  13. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,756
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i noticed that too...and startup takes several more seconds, like at least 10 more seconds
     
  14. GearHead

    GearHead Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,963
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Murrika
    I did a clean install.
     
  15. Lat

    Lat New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    141,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Soldier Field
    i did a clean install (MBP C2D 2.16 1GB ram) and I get the "pop" in iTunes as well. Fucking annoying :mad:
     
  16. lucas_b

    lucas_b New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did upgrade, and now my hot corners only works after clicking out of the active window, depending what the program is. skype and adium for example.
     
  17. kamikaze

    kamikaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    33,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie Ontario
    Shit isn't even there :mad:

    Get BluePhoneElite 2 tho, does everything address book did and more. I"m just on the 2 week trial right now, but I think i may purchase this. It's only USD $25 but with the strong CND loonie right now that'll work out to what, about $7? :mamoru:
     
  18. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    clean install
    network drops over wireless often, looking at the apple forums, TONS of people are having this issue.
     
  19. The1Ash10

    The1Ash10 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    13,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    :fawk:
     
  20. bbmobbin

    bbmobbin Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OC, CA
    i had the pop in the music in tiger..... so i dont know whats up with that.
     
  21. kamikaze

    kamikaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    33,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie Ontario
    So, now, out of nowhere, my SMB shares work fine at home. Fucking weird. Now all I need is Bluetooth to magically re-appear in Address Book and I'll be all set :bigthumb:
     
  22. Jay

    Jay My shit don't stink

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    36,747
    Likes Received:
    2
    anyone having problems with the battery capacity after installing leopard?

    I went from 92% capacity (archive and install - 1st installation of Leopard) to 54% capacity after I did an erase and install.
     
  23. Ariez

    Ariez OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    64,050
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    Nue Yawk
    Caliberize it after install.
     
  24. GearHead

    GearHead Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,963
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Murrika
    ...calibrate? How?
     
  25. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Issues I am having after a clean install are....

    1. Display will not shut off after the set amount of time in 'Energy Saver' preferences.

    2. When computer is put to sleep, display will not turn back on. I hear the HDDs spin up and the LED quit flashing, but no screen :( .
     

Share This Page