Is this possible?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by happyrobots, Jun 4, 2007.

  1. happyrobots

    happyrobots Ü

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phx
    I've got a laptop that's fairly decent (good for email and minor web surfing), but doesn't run programs that take up a large amount of resources well at all.

    I have a spare desktop PC that can run these applications that require more resources, so is there any way that I can connect to this PC from the laptop and use it's processing powers?

    Both computers are connecting via LAN, laptop wirelessly.

    I tried VNC but the refreshing of the screen was too slow, I need something that refreshes as quick as possible on the laptop. What are my options, anything?
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Uh - remote desktop? It's built into Windows..
     
  3. happyrobots

    happyrobots Ü

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phx
    Home edition ftl.....
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  5. happyrobots

    happyrobots Ü

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phx
    404 not found
     
  6. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    windows remote desktop won't be much faster than vnc, if at all.

    If they're both on wireless, try going hardwired just to eliminate the possibility that you don't have enough bandwidth on wifi.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown:
    [move]:bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown:

    [move]I got you good, fucker[/move]

    :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown:[/move]
    :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown:
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    my experience is that rdp is signifigantly faster than vnc.
     
  9. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Mine too - for a business app we use here, we use RDP over a Cable VPN connection and there's very little lag.
     
  10. happyrobots

    happyrobots Ü

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phx
    lol, i know what you did thar .....i just would rather not buy xp pro for this. I was hoping for a free solutions.
     
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I keep waiting for someone to buy me lunch, but the asshole never does.
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  13. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was responding to:
     

Share This Page