Is this good for laptop -> HDTV

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by awns729, Jun 15, 2008.

  1. awns729

    awns729 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    In general, computers don't speak the same "language" over component cables that DVD players and TVs do. There are video cards that can output a component signal in the format that a TV will understand, but the question is whether your laptop has that capability. If it doesn't, you'll need a device like this that can translate:

    http://www.audioauthority.com/product_details/9A60/RGB/5/1
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    my laptop has hdmi :wiggle:

    perhaps you should consider getting a better laptop.
     
  4. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    If your HDTV has a VGA port then get a VGA->VGA cable.
    But I don't think that cable will be a problem
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    depends on the tv. VGA is really RGBHV. Component is really YCbCr. They are not directly compatible.

    Some cards are able to ouput a signal that some tvs can decode.

    It doesn't work 100% of the time with 100% of configs. It's all luck of the draw.
     
  6. awns729

    awns729 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    hm i'd rather not spend that much lol. is there any software that could take care of this for me?

    or, if i were to lug my desktop w/ nvidia geforce 6800 to the other room/downstairs, would this be able to output the correct way to display on a TV? it has special home theater drivers or something that i installed from the gpu driver CD.
     
  7. awns729

    awns729 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0

    yeah, sure if you wanna pay for it lol

    i already have the cable. I tried it on two tvs and i get a really strange picture, it shows my desktop but unbelievably distorted, not even close to anything it should be. i'll post pics tomorrow.

    wolf, nah they're HDTVs from like 4-6 years ago. They don't even have HDMI lol.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    thats because your computer is outputting RGBHV, and that cable is taking the RGB is is probably completely leaving out the HV. So the TV has no horizontal/vertical sync signals. The TV is expecting YCbCr.

    You can get a scan converter.... but if you're gonna do that, you'd be better off getting a better video card that supports tv-out, imo.
     

Share This Page