Is this builder giving me a good price?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by cobramadness, Feb 3, 2004.

1. cobramadness

cobramadness OT Supporter

Hey guys, I'm a noob at building computer and instead of buying another dell that all the parts are just going to die on I'm thinking about having a guy build me a computer. I have a friend that wants to build me one for $900 shipped. He's telling me parts are going to cost him ~$800(prob less, he get's them wholesale). I just want to know what kind of deal he's giving me (excellent, good, ok, or bad). This is just for the tower.

Here's the specs:
    Antec Case and PSU
    Teac 1.44mb floppy
    Western Digital "Special Edition" 120GB 7200RPM hdd
    1GB Crucial PC2700 ram
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+ "Barton" processor
    ASUS GeForce FX 5200 64MB Video Card
    Asus A7N8X-X Mainboard chipset is nForce2 Ultra 400
    40x CD burn, 24x CDRW, 40x CD Read, 4x DVD-R/-RW, 2x DVD+2/+RW (1 drive)

My current computer is a Dell D4400... 1.7 GHz Pentium 4... 512 mb ram... 64mb geforce video card... 19" monitor... speakers w/ sub... dvd-rom/ 24x burner... 40 gb hd...

How much do you think I could get out of that?

Thanks so much in advance,
    Kevin

2. plat

plat New Member

doesn't seem that good to me, you could get those parts for around $500(not including the case) with a combination of stuff from newegg and local stores if your willing to deal with rebates. and thats with an 8x dvdr.

3. MP

MP New Member

crappy memory
    crappy video card
    slow proc

you could get A LOT better for $800

4. cobramadness

1GB Crucial PC2700 ram is crappy memory?
    as for the video card, I don't play games on the computer, so we thought that would do.
    Slow processor? I thought that was a good one, how fast of one do I want?

I found prices on the stuff he gave me ag newegg and it came to ~$650.