Is there anything wrong with what im doing? v. cutting

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by thisgsx, Feb 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thisgsx

thisgsx New Member

Im new to all this so please any help is much appreciated!

My stats are 5'6" @ 150lbs. I dont know my bf% yet, but I will find out as soon as I receive the fat calipers I ordered.

I work out 4x a week in the mornings, cardio 4x a week at night (just started), 30 min session on a stationary bike, 5 min warm up at #1, 20 min on #2, and 5 min on #1 to cool down. The settings are based on a 1-10 scale, 1 being the lightest, 10 being the hardest.

Here's a typcal days meal:

meal 1 (10am): 1 cup oatmeal, 1 can tuna

10:30am - work out
    meal 2 (~11:30am): post workout meal - 4 scoops CytoGainer in 10oz water

meal 3 (2:30pm): boiled tilapia, 1 slice whole wheat bread

meal 4 (5:30pm): grilled steak, 1 slice whole wheat bread

meal 5 (7:30pm): grilled chicken, ~2 cups salad w/ fat free italian dressing

12:30am - cardio - stationary bike, 30min
    meal 6 (1am: post cardio meal - 1 cup oatmeal, 1 can tuna

Based on the BMR calculator my BMR is 1655.1 and based on the Harris Benedict Formula (If you are moderatetely active (moderate exercise/sports 3-5 days/week) : Calorie-Calculation = BMR x 1.55), my total caloric intake for a day is 2565.4 to maintain my weight. Since Im cutting, Im reducing my caloric intake by 500, so my total should be around 2065 calories.

http://www.bmi-calculator.net/bmr-ca...dict-equation/

Now based on Fitday.com, my total calorica intake is:
    Cals Fat Carb Prot
    2177 42 172 269

Based on what Im eating for the day, is it a good meal plan? Is there anything I should add/drop/switch?

Thanks in advance.

2. pripub

pripub Guest

looks pretty solid. dont let the scale fool you. judge your progress with mirrors ONLY

3. Plan B

Plan B New Member

at 5'6", 150lbs i wouldn't use a scale at all, its hardly going to move at this point