is there any reason to buy a 32 bit processor?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dirteemac, Dec 3, 2003.

  1. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    When you can get a 64-bit one now?
     
  2. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    - cost if ur worried about that
    - lack of apps that are compiled to 64 bit
     
  3. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,458
    Likes Received:
    12
    I think the question should've been flipped. I see no need for 64-bit cpu's at home. Especially running Windows.
     
  4. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    :werd: unless its 2003 server 64-bit. And even then, not at home unless you're doing programming from home for a 64-bit platform.
     
  5. Blindsight

    Blindsight Guest

    I see no real reason to move to 64-bit yet either :dunno:
     
  6. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    only benefit to me with 64bit processors is cheaper 32 bit ones :o
     
  7. Divine Vengeance

    Divine Vengeance New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    20,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    There really aren't any mainstream 64bit apps or games to warrant the upgrade, wait a few months for prices to come down.
     
  8. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Wont you need a 64-bit OS too??? What's the point??? Sounds like a waste to be...
     
  9. Divine Vengeance

    Divine Vengeance New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    20,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    AMD's Athlon FX-64 can run 32 bit apps, they jsut get a speed boost. I know there's a few copies of WinXP 64bit Editon floating around out there too.
     
  10. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Silly wabbit -- 64 is just better than 32. Just cuz!

    Actually in all honesty, I work with AMD64 processors every day and they are damn quick little beasts. 64bit OS or not, its damn fast. (and trust me, XP 64bit is even faster)
     
  11. drewski_amk

    drewski_amk Guest

    mainly, the 64bit is (now) mostly for servers/buisnesses/mission critical type deals (usually running linux, as that is what the chip was designed arount). for home use and/or windows use, a 32bit is the same for less money
     
  12. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    You keep thinking that -- excuse me, off to play some UT2K4 64bit...
     
  13. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
     

Share This Page