is there any reason that I need 4 gigs of ram?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by The1Ash10, Mar 23, 2008.

  1. The1Ash10

    The1Ash10 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    13,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    :dunno: I have a MBP 2.4 with the 2 gigs that it came with, but is there any really reason that I need it? I use photoshop/dreamweaver a great deal and game a little....
     
  2. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    for photoshop if you do major graphics work...
    otherwise not really in my view...
    unless you wanna talk a big game about how much ram you have...

    i don't know why so many people in the macshack max out their ram :dunno:
    i guess it's just cause it's cheap?
     
  3. mds2004

    mds2004 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    10,600
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    Unless your computer seems to be bogging down or you are using intense programs, no.

    My Macbook started to get real slow with its 1gb so I looked up ram and saw how cheap it was for 4gb and upgraded to that. No regrets at all.
     
  4. Pitt

    Pitt 1-1-11 — Never Forget OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    150,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Injured Reserve
    my 4 gigs will be here tomorrow, I hope :hyper:
     
  5. gui3

    gui3 all the dude ever wanted was his rug back

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    2
    if you can get it for a decent price, there's no reason not to do it.

    if you were thinking of buying apple RAM, i'd say no because the price is ridiculous.

    but going from 1GB to 2GB on my MBP was a great improvement.

    and going from 1GB to 4GB on my PC desktop was a huge improvement. it just doesn't bog down.
     
  6. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    You can work out if you need more memory, I don't really have time to explain in detail right now, but if you look at activity monitor after a session of regular use and you are getting alot of page outs then you may get real benefit from more memory. You can of course benefit eitherway from things being able to be cached in memory.

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=107918 has some information, and if you look on something like macrumours you can probably find more detailed on whether it's worth the upgrade.

    Being that you can get 4GB for under $100 from a third party it's probably worth it with the applications you describe using.
     
  7. Ricky

    Ricky █▄ █▄█ █▄ ▀█▄

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    38,767
    Likes Received:
    6
    I upgraded to 4 gigs and it's been great so far.

    Most of my programs i use ( photoshop, illustrator, dreamweaver ) seems to love to eat RAM.

    now with 4 gigs of ram, on a daily average it uses up about 75% of that.
     
  8. skolen

    skolen Guest

    I've been running 3.5Gb for a while in my G5 and it's been plenty so far. I'll probably max it out to the 8Gb limit just because it'll be cheap.
     
  9. Sirius

    Sirius OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,239
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Chicago
    quick question: adding aftermarket ram doesn't affect the warranty or apple care, does it?
     
  10. skolen

    skolen Guest

    I read somewhere that Apple uses either Toshiba or Crucial brand RAM.

    I currently use a mix of Apple memory and Crucial's Ballistix brand.
     
  11. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Just curious, which processor(s) do you have in your G5?
     
  12. skolen

    skolen Guest

    They only came in PPC. Dual 2.3Ghz setup (2 physical CPU's).
     
  13. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I know it only came in PPC. I was just wondering which speed processors you had. I was wondering if I had the exact same one, but I don't. I've only got the Dual 1.8 with 4 gigs of RAM. Still fast though!
     
  14. skolen

    skolen Guest

    Yea. I mentioned in some other thread that this runs as fast as when I got it 3 years ago even with 10.5.2 installed. That's saying a lot for a computer.

    I can see me having this for another 3 easy just bumping the RAM up as I need.
     
  15. fatass

    fatass New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    i don't think it'll ever be cheaper then it is now
     
  16. Pitt

    Pitt 1-1-11 — Never Forget OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    150,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Injured Reserve
    ram coming tomorrow... :wtcd:

    was so excited today :o
     
  17. Drloveless

    Drloveless Mac Crew

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronots
    i gots 2 gigs in my g4. More then enough.
     
  18. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I got 5gb in the mac pro, 1gb from apple and 4gb for like $300 off newegg. Just incase I ever need it all. :dunno:
     
  19. DouggieJ

    DouggieJ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY USA
    It's not a bad idea especially if you run VMWare or Parallels, if you can afford it why not? But going further than 4 probably won't help.
     
  20. Pitt

    Pitt 1-1-11 — Never Forget OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    150,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Injured Reserve
    I have my memory...

    and the fucking middle screw won't come out :mad:

    time to go find a phillips. :o
     
  21. Pitt

    Pitt 1-1-11 — Never Forget OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    150,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Injured Reserve
  22. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
  23. Drloveless

    Drloveless Mac Crew

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronots
  24. artistry727

    artistry727 OT ftw

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pa
    Unless your running photoshop, aperature and final cut at the same time, no
     
  25. Pitt

    Pitt 1-1-11 — Never Forget OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    150,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Injured Reserve
    well no final cut, but yes to the other two :wiggle:
     

Share This Page