Is there any easy way to change my boot drive from an IDE to SATA...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by anjego, Jan 19, 2005.

  1. anjego

    anjego Invading your economy!

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    33,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    without losing teh data?

    ghosting it is about all i can think of, and even then wouldn't necessarily be perfect :hs:

    what i would be thinking here is...

    ghost original boot drive onto unformatted new SATA drive.

    swap SATA drive in place of original IDE boot drive.

    ???

    profit!

    would that work?
     
  2. Mikey D

    Mikey D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI
    Ghosting will work, or the manufactuer of the drive usually has a utility on their website that will do the same thing for free.
     
  3. Toaster Oven

    Toaster Oven Guest

    It's been my experience that this is usually less than 100% successful depending on what applications you have installed. I would reinstall and save yourself the headaches of tracking down problems later on. If you do try the Ghost method, make sure you install SATA drivers before you Ghost. If you can't get Ghost to execute properly, try running it in command mode with "fni" and "noide" switches.
     
  4. anjego

    anjego Invading your economy!

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    33,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    well, i am just trying to figure out how hard it might be. i am upgrading to a mobo that supports SATA (finally!) and thought that it might be nice to upgrade my boot drive at the same drive. but if it is going to be a big PITA then i might not even bother.
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I've swapped many boot drives between PATA and SATA and ghost works wonders
     
  6. Mikey D

    Mikey D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI
    It's honestly in my eyes pretty easy but if you're swapping a mobo i would do a fresh install. It's not recommended to use a previous build like that on a new configuration. Not saying it won't work but you could run into a lot of problems.
     
  7. anjego

    anjego Invading your economy!

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    33,270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    hah. well, i broke my old mobo, so i want to at least be able to boot up and salvage some data before wiping it completely.

    it will work... check out this thread (even tho the server is down for maintenance right now)
    http://episteme.arstechnica.com/eve/ubb.x?a=tpc&s=50009562&f=77909774&m=1400925745
     
  8. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    If you are just salvaging the info, there's no need to even boot into it though. Just fresh install it and then plug in the old drive when you're up and running.
     
  9. MacAlert

    MacAlert Maxima driver OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hook up both your new SATA drive and the IDE drive. Do a clean install of XP or whatever OS you want. Then move files that you want from the old HD to the new HD.
     

Share This Page