Is there an edu for re-installing Vista?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Mangina, Sep 15, 2009.

1. Mangina

Mangina New Member

I kind of want to re-install it on my year and a half old Lenovo to get rid of some of the add-on programs that came on the computer. I've never done anything like this before and was wondering if there's an edu for idiots like me, or if I should even bother trying this myself. :dunno:

2. cmsurfer

cmsurfer ºllllllº

Do you have a Vista CD/DVD? Backup your data and then boot off the CD and follow the prompts.

3. Mangina

Mangina New Member

I didn't get the cd with my computer. It was all pre-loaded. :sad2:

4. mondaynightmike

mondaynightmike New Member

Minus whale put W7 on there

5. Mangina

Mangina New Member

Serious? Is it free? I don't want to go to prison.

6. DigiCrime

DigiCrime If Only!

download vista from some torrent site and use the product key that is on the side of your computer

7. Mangina

Mangina New Member

So is it as easy as just booting from a Vista CD, or are there 45 steps missing that will make me unable to run my computer?

I just don't want to re-install it, try to start it up and find out it doesn't work, and be unable to go on the internet to troubleshoot.

8. 7960

7960 New Member

#1. look for software that was installed originally that lets you "reset" the OS back to the day you bought the laptop.

It might be called "recovery" or "factory reset" or "reload"........or it might be "tools" and then under tools you'll find one of those. But the best way to do this is to do it using the manufacturer's tool, not to download something off a torrent and try to make your product key work with it.