Is there a reason i keep loosing my connection when i use a wireless router?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by CrazyMook, Sep 19, 2003.

  1. CrazyMook

    CrazyMook OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22,051
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    We have our desktop occasionally running thru a wireless router when my dad wants to use his laptop, but whenever the router is hooked up, i can barely stay online on the desktop, but i guess my dad has no problems. Even aim keeps loosing connection...everything works fine when the router is unhooked..so whats the deal?? :rant2:
     
  2. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Your avatar rocks.
     
  3. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    maybe you're on the very edge of the wireless signal?
     
  4. CrazyMook

    CrazyMook OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22,051
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    yes, i know my avatar rocks, but that hot asian aint gonna get my connection staying on...very edge of the wireless signal? i'm total pud in this realm of computers...the laptop works FINE, its my desktop computer thats loosing its connection...yea
     
  5. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    I meant maybe that your desktop is too far away? :dunno:

    It is close enough to get a signal but only an unreliable one.
     
  6. CrazyMook

    CrazyMook OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22,051
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    the router sits ontop of the tower...so...unless by my dad having the laptop UPSTAIRS affects connection..then i've got nothing
     
  7. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    :doh: I think I completely misunderstood you - the laptop is using the wireless and the desktop is connected by an ethernet cable to the router, right?
     
  8. CrazyMook

    CrazyMook OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22,051
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    correct. if it helps at all, the router is a 2.4ghz linksys...ok then
     
  9. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    So the wireless routher also has hardwired ports on it and you connect the desktop to that right?

    Sorry if these questions are annoying, I'm kind of slow today ;)

    What kind of router? Have you tried a different port?
     
  10. CrazyMook

    CrazyMook OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22,051
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    yes to first question. running thru port 1 now..gonna try maybe the second port...like i said, linksys, 2.4ghz
     
  11. CrazyMook

    CrazyMook OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22,051
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    thanks.
     
  12. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    did switching ports work?
     
  13. CrazyMook

    CrazyMook OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22,051
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    no, that was my dumbass friend who put thanks. switching ports did nothing
     
  14. Coco Monkey

    Coco Monkey OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    29,456
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    :( awww...
     
  15. IDAFC21

    IDAFC21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avondale, AZ

    aaaaahahahahaha :greddy:
     
  16. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry I didn't reply earlier - I haven't been on all day.

    Have you tried connecting the laptop, or another PC, to the hardwired ports on the router? It sounds to me like there is a problem with the router but I'd like to eliminate anything else before I recommend that you get a new one.
     

Share This Page