Is there a program

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Homan, Mar 2, 2004.

  1. Homan

    Homan Unconquerable OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    9,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    or something in windows that can limit the upload bandwidth? for some reason when i am uploading something at full throttle my cable modem will reset by itself, and anything less it works fine.
     
  2. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
  3. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Have you told your cable ISP about this?
    Might be a problem with the modem and they can replace it.
     
  4. aphoric

    aphoric Even if god did exist, it would be necessary to ab

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leaving Afghanistan
    I also have this problem with up and downstream, if I hit it hard, my linksys cable modem will shit. I can't get a new DHCP lease or anything when this happens. I just have to cycle the power on it. I think this has something to do with it overheating, since I had my router/wap stacked on top of it. They stack nicely, but this seems like a design flaw that it gets so damn hot...
     
  5. n99nyrwg

    n99nyrwg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
    does your modem ever reset randomly (either of you)
     
  6. Up All Night

    Up All Night I might sleep all day

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. aphoric

    aphoric Even if god did exist, it would be necessary to ab

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leaving Afghanistan
    The only time my modem really has issues is when I am sucking up all my bandwidth, up or down... it used to work great, but since it started doing that, I felt to see if it was hot, and the thing was super hot... now the diag light on my WAP is always on...
     

Share This Page