A&P Is there a grip for the 30D that works yet?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by isaac86hatch, Apr 3, 2008.

  1. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I had them for my 20Ds but seemed to have problems here and there and have been hearing the same stories about the 30Ds since it's essentially the same thing.

    Is anyone making an off-brand grip that is decent yet? Usually I don't mind shooting without, in fact I quite like the ergonomics of the 20/30D but I would like to have grip anyway.

    Thus far I have seen Canon's BG-E2, Opteka and Adorama apparently "makes" one now.

    Any suggestions would be great. I don't follow the other photo forums (OTAP >*) so I am out of the loop if these days.
     
  2. e.pie

    e.pie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    91,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KFLY
    I haven't had any problems with my BG-E2N on my 40d :dunno:
     
  3. I read that the Opteka is pretty poor quality, sometimes the grip becomes loose and buttons don't function all too well. Best money is to get the Canon.
     
  4. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Does not work on the 30D :dunno: right?
     
  5. nastyboy132

    nastyboy132 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    i can't imagine there's no canon grip for the 30d.
     
  6. e.pie

    e.pie Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    91,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KFLY
    it's the same grip as the BG-E2 with some fancy weather stripping :dunno:
     
  7. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I never had a problem with the BGE2 on my 20, 30, or 40D. Yes a BGE2 will work on a 40D. You dont have to get the E2N
     
  8. IntheWorks

    IntheWorks windin film.. takin pics Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    16,928
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    earth
    I have the BG-E2 on my 20D without any problems, and my cousin has it on his 30D without any issues either.
     
  9. aCab

    aCab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    18,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicaaago
    I have the BG-E2 on my 30d. Wouldn't have it any other way.
     
  10. dooks88

    dooks88 need some bat wings

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SRQ
    .
     
  11. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I'm glad to hear this. Both of mine on my 20s had issues. Sometimes in the middle of a shoot one or th other would lose power. It was never a big deal but it seemed to happen at the worst moment.

    ep, thanks for the info on the E2n. I will start looking for OEM grips tonight.

    Anyone have any ideas on the best place to pick one up?
     
  12. Jhegro

    Jhegro wtf is a jhegro?

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    my friend with a 40d and a BG2N says his still flexes and he still had to shove a shim in the grip to make it all work.

    i dont get why the 20/30/40d grips suck so much. i never hear about problems with the 5d grip, or the old D30/60/10d grips
     
  13. SuperCzar

    SuperCzar Mac Crew, DSLR Crew

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLO, CA, USA
    my BG-E2N works great on my 20D....
     
  14. CornUponCob

    CornUponCob New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    15,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    My BG_E2 worked fine on my 30D.
    It does NOT work as well on my 40D (shutter button sometimes doesn't work, more Er 99s, other odd problems)

    The BG_E2N works fine on my other 40D.
     
  15. PUREVIL

    PUREVIL More Money Than Brains Croo

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    22,622
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Minot ND / Las Vegas NV
    . but I have a 30D

    The BG-E2N works on 20D, 30D, and 40D. The N has better dust and water protection than the BG-E2 otherwise they are the same.
     
  16. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,699
    Likes Received:
    355
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    The BG-E2N has a dust strip around the door only (not to be confused with water sealing) there is no sealing around any of the buttons and it is by no means weather sealed in the way a 1D is. There is absolutely zero splash or water protection.

    The E2N also adds an AF-ON button which only functions with the 40D. Beyond these two changes, there is no difference between the BG-E2 and the BG-E2N. The BG-E2 will work with 20D/30D/40D.

    The misconception that BG-E2 grips don't work reliably comes from early BG-E2's that were never serviced causing frequent Err99 conditions due to the grip losing contact with the body. This was resolved and is no longer an issue. You can contact Canon service to have your grip serviced if you experience this problem. This is a known problem with a known fix. New grips do NOT suffer from this problem.

    Beyond that issue (which was resolved well over two years ago) there aren't many issues with the BG-E2. It's not a great grip and suffers from rather poor design, but it does function just fine.
     
  17. PUREVIL

    PUREVIL More Money Than Brains Croo

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    22,622
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Minot ND / Las Vegas NV
    My bad I was told and I thought I read it had water protection.
     

Share This Page