Is my 350 W Antec PS good enough for this setup?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Anders 7, Sep 8, 2007.

  1. Anders 7

    Anders 7 I aim to misbehave OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    23,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    X1950 Pro Video Card

    AMD 4200 X2 Processor

    1 Sata HD

    1 Optical Drive

    1 Pci slot

    1 Ubs Device

    It's a simple PC setup. My main concern is the video card getting enough juice.

    know a lot of requirements say 450 Watts but I hear Antec is a pretty good ps company and I would think their 350 would be better than some companies 450.

    :dunno:
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2007
  2. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    it depends on how many amps your 350w puts out on the 12v rail

    add up the consumption of all your 12v components and see if it can handle it. And that said some cheap 450w PSUs might not have enough 12v power, it all depends
     
  3. Anders 7

    Anders 7 I aim to misbehave OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    23,359
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    lol

    /me waits for psu to blow and take every other component with it.
     
  5. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
  6. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Short answer, not nearly enough.
     
  7. Anders 7

    Anders 7 I aim to misbehave OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    23,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know why these mid range video cards need $100 + Power Supplies. Seems silly to me.

    I've read mixed reviews about my video card. Several said they have used shitty 300 watt dell and HP power supplies and they've worked fine.

    Should I at least give it a shot and watch my temps or do I run a big risk of destroying my PC right off the bat?
     
  8. Anders 7

    Anders 7 I aim to misbehave OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    23,359
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. Anders 7

    Anders 7 I aim to misbehave OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    23,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well update!

    My Antec SL350 has 21 Amps not 16 so thats cool. Internet says 16 my sticker says 21, go figure.

    Anyways my new egg package arrived and I installed the 4200 X2 and 1950 Pro

    It booted right up. My cpu runs cooler than shit and my card is running around
    56c Gpu and 42c for the chip. Not horrible.

    Anywho my old setup was a Athlon 3000+ 64 and a 6600 GT

    My 3D Mark 06 went from 3D score of 1697 and CPU score of 701 to

    3D score of 4681 and CPU score of 1676

    Couldn't be happier runs every game full settings and no artifacts. Haven't had a failure yet. :wiggle:
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    350W might be enough to run it once it's turned-on and warmed-up, but that little PSU is under some hard stress when everything comes online at once.
     

Share This Page