is it possible to remote into a sleeping computer?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by s2k, Feb 22, 2009.

  1. s2k

    s2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    46,921
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    corn field, iowa
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    probably if the 'wake on lan' setting is enabled/supported on the sleeping comp
     
  3. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    yeah, with wake on lan you can remote into one thats turned off, I do it all the time
     
  4. s2k

    s2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    46,921
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    corn field, iowa
    alright, so i figured out how to WOL my computer when its on sleep mode and when its on hibernation mode, but i cannot get it to work when the computer is completely shut down?????

    what am i doing wrong here?
     
  5. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    it will only work in sleep, hibernation, and soft-off state,.. not to a pc completely turned off.

    check the pc's bios and power settings (ACPI) if there is such a setting that everything is shut down but reserves some power on the nic.
     
  6. s2k

    s2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    46,921
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    corn field, iowa
    soft off = start > shut down = s5 state, right?

    acpi apic and acpi 2.0 is enabled

    asus p5q se/r mobo
     
  7. s2k

    s2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    46,921
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    corn field, iowa
    is this the correct setting for the NIC ?

    [​IMG]
     
  8. s2k

    s2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    46,921
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    corn field, iowa
    is it possible that my mobo only supports wol for sleep/hibernation and not s5 state?
     
  9. s2k

    s2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    46,921
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    corn field, iowa
    ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh i think i got it, need to enable the Shutdown Wake up option in the NIC, stupid me
     
  10. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    not really sure
    i don't have those settings in the bios of my abit or old asus mobos
    what does your manual say?

    edit: nvm
     

Share This Page