Is it possible to limit bandwith on a home network?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Ribbie, Sep 8, 2005.

  1. Ribbie

    Ribbie OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    81,814
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    204
    Is it possible to limit bandwidth on a home network?

    I'm paying for the internet in our apartment and one of the roommates doesnt think he should have to pay some of the bill because of his current rent. Rather than cause an argument I started thinking of alternatives. What I would like to do is set up our connection so that 80% of the bandwidth is available for my comp and that he gets a max of 20% of it.

    I'm paying for a speed tier and late at night, when I want to game or d/l he usually is doing the same. I have a linksys befsr81 router. I've been looking through linksys website and can't find much, now I'm on to google.

    Is this even possible to do with my current equipment?
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2005
  2. Ribbie

    Ribbie OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    81,814
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    204
    I just found some other forum thread with a suggestion to try sygate?

    Is this a step in the right direction?
     
  3. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    I don't know about your particular router, but there is third-party firmware available for the linksys wrtg54 router that add packet or traffic shaping capabilities.
     
  4. Ribbie

    Ribbie OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    81,814
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    204
    I just upgraded the firmware today. I'll have to take a look into that when I get home.
     
  5. Ribbie

    Ribbie OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    81,814
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    204
    Anyone?
     
  6. Yep

    Yep Knick knack paddy whack, give the old dog a bone

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    A royal pain in the ass but you could setup your PC as a gateway. If you can go the router route that would be the way to go.
     
  7. stoliohranj

    stoliohranj beautiful fucking tits man

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    10,097
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    blitzburgh
    gotta link?
     
  8. AeroSquid

    AeroSquid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    9,627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
  9. Bruticus

    Bruticus half dead OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,608
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Vote for this. It can be an old PC (say p2 400) without a screen or keyboard or mouse and it will handle the job perfectly. You could try netlimiter on his PC if he's stupid and doesn't know how to turn it off.

    I have no experience with that router so no idea if you have firmware which can install what you're after.
     
  10. Monstrddg

    Monstrddg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    How about this... he refuses to pay for the privledge of using your internet service so you take it away from him
     
  11. Ribbie

    Ribbie OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    81,814
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    204
    It's not worth the conflict. I'd rather just keep him as he is a good clean tenant. He just doesn't get off his wallet.
     
  12. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    you should be able to limit specific ports when you log into the router. i think.
     
  13. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you got the image for your linksys... did it work?
     
  14. Valence

    Valence Gustav Refugee

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    lock down the router. Leave port 80 open for him, forward ports to your box only for the specific games you play.

    Or you can just filter by mac address, and leave his out. Tell him you don't know whats wrong, all tne cables are hooked up right.... maybe he needs to take his computer in to get looked at :)
     
  15. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    now THAT sounds like a good idea :bigthumb:

    I am impressed by this HyperWRT software, I need to buy a wireless router for my home when I move next month I will look for one they have firmware for
     

Share This Page