Is it possible to freelance as a network engineer?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by AbortionSurvivor, Apr 25, 2008.

1. AbortionSurvivor

AbortionSurvivor Active Member

So a few small businesses have approached me about setting up their SAN network and virtualizing some servers. These businesses know me through word of mouth or from other professionals.

I've turn down these jobs since I already have a day job. -I work as an engineer for VMware.
    I'm also afraid to take the jobs since i won't be able to provide support if something fails.

All this possible work has me thinking that this could be decent side income.
    Has anyone tried freelancing this type of work AND also having a Mon-Fri day job?

I guess i could offer my services as a "consultant", but not offer service contracts. Does that really work?
    How do i avoid them calling me if something breaks? -I'm very experienced, but let's face it; shit breaks.

2. DAN513

DAN513 OT Supporter

It's tough, really tough. Worst case scenario is that one of the things you've set up for someone goes boom at 945am and they need you asap. Who could you deal with that?

I agree, the money is very tempting, but unless you can just up and leave your 9-5 job, it won't work.

3. JayC71

JayC71 Guest

I've thought about this as well. Many times actually, and it has worked out for me in the past. The only catch is that you need to have an understanding, written preferably, with the company that this is a SIDE job and you aren't available 24/7, and that once you set it up and configure it to their liking your job is complete (so they don't call you when Joe decides to reconfigure the SAN two weeks later).

4. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

You could design networks for people, but it would have to be contingent upon them having their own IT support to keep it running once everything's installed and running.

5. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member