Is it bad to do quick format?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Movendi, Jun 23, 2007.

  1. Movendi

    Movendi Techno-süchtige

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    12,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver B.C
    On new harddrives?

    Just built a new computer with everything new and installed windows xp (sp2) on a new WD 800JD using quick format. Is that a bad move?

    Also I have a new WD 5000AAKS that will have to be formatted to ntfs, so i was wondering if i have to do full format or i can just do quick format?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,353
    Likes Received:
    250
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    I'd do a full format the first time so it'll read the whole disk. Even better would be to run a disk diagnostic program from your hard drive maker or something like Spinrite.
     
  3. mrj

    mrj New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc tpa sf
    no way. I always quick format.
     
  4. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    quick format skips the checking of errors,... that's why it's fast.
    for new drives,... I'd full format that shit. I only use quick format if I'm sure that the drive is healthy.
     
  5. Movendi

    Movendi Techno-süchtige

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    12,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver B.C
    Kool thanks, now i gotta reformat (full) and reinstall windows.

    What's the deal with these AHCI sata options?
     
  6. Sphere

    Sphere New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Full also zeroes everything.
     
  7. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    ...OR you could just run chkdisk and keep your install.
     
  8. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    AHCI is only good for hot swapping drives(which you probably won't be doing) and NCQ. NCQ is useless in daily tasks(games and basic web browsing). It is slow as fuck unless you are forcing the drive to constantly read and write.
     
  9. Jay487

    Jay487 What's Life If You Ain't Enjoyin' It?

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    i thought only gwscan did that, which is why it was sometimes necessary when you have a nasty virus as a format just wouldnt do it
     

Share This Page