Is it a bad idea to use Bootcamp to play games?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Genocide, Sep 30, 2007.

  1. Genocide

    Genocide Why does my W look like a peace sign?!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    and if it's not, how do I go about not losing all my programs? (the only one I really need to not lose is Final Cut Studio 2). Sorry I know shit about this :o
     
  2. dbman96

    dbman96 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2000
    Messages:
    49,996
    Likes Received:
    6
    it's a great idea... and why are you afraid of losing programs?

    it takes some unused space on your hard drive, turns it into another partition, and installs XP on that partition. your OSX install is unaffected (aside from losing some HD space)
     
  3. Genocide

    Genocide Why does my W look like a peace sign?!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    I don't need to reformat to use Windows?
     
  4. nehmia

    nehmia New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    0
    nope. the bootcamp assistant app is very helpful. printout the directions and follow step by step just to be extra sure. and you will need a copy of xp that already has SP2. i use bootcamp to boot into xp to play oblivion, ms flight sim, and DoD. works like a charm.

    oh, and dl smc fan control. set it up, and before you restart to boot into XP, set the controller to run at 6k rpm. playing games in XP runs hot, also recommend getting a decent laptop cooler (ie. vantec lapcool).

    http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/23049
     
  5. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    why would a company give out free software to take their main product off and have you install something else? :wtf:
     
  6. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    :rofl:
     
  7. Hypnos_VI

    Hypnos_VI JENGA!

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portsmouth, NH
    you would be surprised how many people buy macs now just to wipe them and put windows on.
     
  8. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    it doesn't surprise me, but it's also really stupid...
     
  9. nehmia

    nehmia New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    0
    eh, the guy didn't know.


    but it is extremely retarded to buy a mac solely for windows.
     
  10. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Really? If you want a Windows computer in a small form factor, for $600... what options are out there that are better than the Mini?
     
  11. bovine

    bovine New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Way to make generalizations about intellect based on how a person chooses to use a tool. Christ, it's not a religion or world view; it's a fucking computer.
     
  12. nehmia

    nehmia New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    0
    i retract my previous statement. :o

    jebus.
     
  13. Genocide

    Genocide Why does my W look like a peace sign?!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    No what I meant was, do I need to reformat to get windows ON there, not reformat every time i want to use windows, but thanks for answering te question
     
  14. Genocide

    Genocide Why does my W look like a peace sign?!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    I'm having such a hard time finding a copy of XP with SP2:o
     
  15. _Trev_

    _Trev_ Ya gotta pay the troll toll... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    47,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    When you install XP/bootcamp, nothing will be erased
     
  16. nehmia

    nehmia New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. nehmia

    nehmia New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats what i had to do, worked perfectly
     
  18. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Terrible idea. What are you doing with your life?
     

Share This Page