Is Adaptec SCSI worth the price premium?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mdaniel, May 10, 2006.

  1. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    I just want a reliable PCI SCSI card for an internal 68 pin LVD drive. I don't need raid or even a BIOS but I don't want junk either.
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I despise Adaptec SCSI cards. Too hard to configure and they slow the bootup process way down. Dell PercRAIDs are delicious, though.
     
  3. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
  4. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    After the problems a friend had with an Adaptec SCSI card, I would go with LSI Logic. Anecdotal, but I believe.
     
  5. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    I find that a rather funny statement since PercRAID cards are OEM's LSI boards.

    SCSI-RAID ADAPTER BTLD/HBA
    ==========================================================

    Perc II PCI 2 Channel (AMI) (first generation) amird/mega
    Perc2 PCI 4 Channel (Adaptec/DELL) percraid
    Perc2/SC PCI Single Channel (AMI) amird/mega
    Perc2/DC PCI Dual Channel (AMI) amird/mega
    Perc3/DC PCI Dual Channel (LSI) 1600 amird/mega
    Perc3/SC PCI Single Channel (LSI) 1600 amird/mega
    Perc3/QC PCI 4 Channel (LSI) 1600 amird/mega
    Perc4/DC PCI Dual Channel (LSI) perc/perc
    Perc4/Di PCI Dual Channel (LSI) amird/mega
    Perc4/SC PCI 4 Channel (LSI) amird/mega
    Perc4e PCI-X 2/4 Channel (LSI) amird/mega
     
  6. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    The point is that I really need to wear my glasses when I read OT on my second monitor at work :hs:
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try setting the resolution to whatever unreadably-high setting the monitor was designed for, then go into the Advanced Display Properties and set your dots-per-inch to something like 120 or 144 instead of 96. That way your screen will be both clear AND readable.
     
  8. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    yea, but the problem is the primary monitor has a lower res than the secondary, so if I do that then the monitors are at different resolutions and stuff starts to break in annoying ways (i.e. Citrix connections are no longer seamless).
     
  9. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Time to find the person with your good monitor's long-lost twin, and talk them into trading it with your screen.
     
  10. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Unfortunately my good monitor is my laptop, so that would be kinda hard. Damn HP and their low res 1730's
     
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Indeed. Get an LG desktop LCD screen to go with your laptop. They're height-adjustable so you can get the screen down to where it's level with your laptop.
     
  12. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Yea, using my own equipment is not an option unfortunately.
     
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm running a Tyan S2895 with LSI scsi, and I don't like it nearly as
    much as I did the Adaptec scsi that came on my old Tyan S2462 board.
    I've also used several older 50pin scsi adaptec cards, and one ultra 320 adaptec 68pin card, and they all ran perfectly.
    Plus I didn't need to install drivers for the Adaptec chipsets with Windows, but I did for the LSI.
     
  14. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I don't have much experience with the LSI cards, but I have owned various Adaptec SCSI cards over the years (2940, 2930U2, 2940U2W, 29160, 29320) and I've never had any issues. The only trouble I had was when I tried to flash the BIOS on the 29160 and it failed... however, I was able to get it back up and going again.
     
  15. Chaotic Reality

    Chaotic Reality New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    29,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    lsi megaraid cards are complete shit. rarely have problems with the adaptec cards we use.
     
  16. Chaotic Reality

    Chaotic Reality New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    29,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    we have problems with the arrays randomly disappearing from the box requiring reboots to recover them. performance issues in general - it's not uncommon for a brand new card to perform at less than half, sometimes a quarter of the 'advertised' read/write throughput. we've seen boxes at 0% disk idle for no good reason on several occasions where replacing the card with a new one will fix it. just a bunch of stupid shit. we have over 500+ boxes so it's pretty noticable.
     

Share This Page