Is Acronis still one of the best imaging utilities?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by negative zero, Feb 3, 2008.

  1. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    We got a few new laptops at work the other day and I was asked what would be the best solution for imaging. Now, it's been a while since I have imaged a drive but I've used Ghost 2003 and a version of Acronis (not which which version) for my machines but with a slight catch. I always create an additional partition and back it up to it for an easy restore.

    These new laptops only have one partition. So I'd like something that will:
    1. Image the drive onto a dvd so the user can just put the dvd in the drive and boot off of it and completely restore.

    or

    2. Buy a usb hard drive and put the image on that.


    or

    3. Something else :dunno:



    The first choice would be the best/easiest IMO. The second is OK but I have no idea about booting from an image on a drive???? Never had to do that.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I use it to put the image on a backup hard drive. Then I do the recovery by way of the acronis boot cd.

    Doing it that way at least, is extremely fast.
     
  3. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    For good measure, especially with Vista pre-installs, I make a ghost network boot disk and image the whole drive to a network drive.

    Then I zap the original install, split the drive during the install, image the 1st partition after initial install w/ drivers to the 2nd partition, image the 1st partition after software has been loaded to the 2nd partition.

    I then make a boot DVD with Nero and a Win 98SE boot disk and put ghost and those two images on it. I don't bother writing the batch file to restore the drive because I'm paranoid that someone will stick the DVD into the drive and kill their drive by mistake. I'd much rather walk them through it.
     
  4. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having a very strange problem with Acronis.
    When I do an image copy it works fine. It is quick too.

    But when I do a backup once the program hits SOME sort of system files (I haven't identified what kind yet) the backup just simply stops backing up.
    It just sits there.
    It won't move again till I kill it.

    It is a VERY strange problem.
    I have every reason to believe it is something that is only affecting me though.
    What is puzzling is that it followed me from XP to Vista and across 2 different motherboards.

    The whole thing is just weird.

    It is my opinion that there is no such thing as great backup/image software. No matter what kind I have used, and I have paid for plenty over the years, I have always run into some sort of fucked up puzzling problem.
     
  5. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    that sounds like the best way to do it then. just have to get a few usb external drives.

    Acronis 11 is the newest. Is that what you use?
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yep.

    I've got a decent walkthrough, too. If you get v.11 just let me know, I'll pm it to you.
     
  7. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I don't get that. What's the benefit of creating the two images on the second partition?
    I mean, why not just a single "completed" image?
     
  8. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    :bowdown: I'll take it.
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Pm sent.

    :wavey:
     
  10. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    :bigthumb:
     
  11. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    One image is a baseline, the other is our software load. But our software load changes depending on the use, and whether or not the software gets upgraded. Since I can fit both on a DVD, I figure I might as well have them both.
     
  12. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    So that way you can update the software load, and keep the baseline untouched?

    That makes sense.

    For me, since it's just one machine at a time, I run the baseline first.
    Then I add all the programs and work with the pc for a few days to make sure everything is stable and running smooth.
    And then I do the image again, and run a practice recovery off of it to make sure that it works properly.
    Once I see that it does, I delete the original baseline backup.

    But I'm only doing two machines total here, so I can mess around with it.
     
  13. 1999TL

    1999TL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    I do two drive images as well. One with a fresh copy of Windows/ Office and antivirus, then one with my installed programs.

    Have any of you guys tried booting from the hard drive? Instead of making a cd I made it bootable from the hard drive. I've always used cd's in the past but I was lazy this time to make one.
     
  14. 1999TL

    1999TL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Oh yah, How does Nero's backup compare with Acronis?
     
  15. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I've doe the HD before - you install Win98 SE and then XP on a separate partition. Then wipe the SE out aside from the boot files (or just use the boot files).

    I had one of our computers change the boot.ini, restart, image the partition as an image file, change the boot.ini back and reboot.

    You do need to be careful about imaging a domain computer after it has been joined - if it's going to remain a domain computer, it's not bad. However if it's not, you're going to have all kinds of grief with GPO's.
     
  16. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    Would you mind PMing me a copy?

    thanks
     
  17. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Sure, no problem. I would post them in the thread, but it takes up a lot of space, since I list every mouse click.
     

Share This Page