A&P Is a 430EX enough power?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by coughlin's law, Jul 27, 2009.

  1. I was wondering, I've played with both a 430EX and 580EX II and found that the 430EX was more ideal for throwing ontop of my camera, that the 580EX was a little too much...

    Is there any reason why I would get a 580EX for other than slaving another flash off it? I've seen pictures with a 430EX bouncing into an umbrella, and it seemed like enough light. If I were to get a 430EX I'd maybe get a TTL Flash Cord and play with that... it seems like enough power, I don't know if I want to follow the whole strobist thing...
     
  2. alexromo

    alexromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wahiawa
    power

    recycle time

    master/slave

    uhm, i cant think of anything else
     
  3. MSIGuy

    MSIGuy om nom nom nom!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 580's weather sealed, the 430 isn't.
    The 580 is silent to recycle, the 430 isn't.
    The 580 has a wheel, the 430 has crappy hard to use buttons.

    But I thought you weren't into photography anymore? Didn't you make (a couple) threads about how you were leaving?
     
  4. IntheWorks

    IntheWorks windin film.. takin pics Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    16,928
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    earth
    I have a 430ex... and it's ok, there are times I wish I had the extra power though...
     
  5. wizeguy4

    wizeguy4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    I had the 430ex, sold it and got the 550. it has penty of power and recycling time for what I want. I am looking atmaking a battery pack for it tho so it lasts longer for times it is off camera
     
  6. IntheWorks

    IntheWorks windin film.. takin pics Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    16,928
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    earth
    if you want any info on this, just let me know... I made a couple for my 530EZ and my 500 super Dg
     
  7. wizeguy4

    wizeguy4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    I think I have all that I need. I got some pictures and some cool ideas for dummy batteries. I am going to buy a SLA bat based on 6V. Last christmas we bought my sons a small power wheels quad that runs on a 6V SLA that he uses, but I can save some cash by using the same charger
     
  8. IntheWorks

    IntheWorks windin film.. takin pics Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    16,928
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    earth
    I tried the dummy battery thing and didn't care for it to much... so since I had 5 hot shoe flashes already, I decided to make these 2 off camera only and make wire leads to hook up my battery, rather than dummies... almost finished with them, I just need to hook up the connectors and I'll be good.
     
  9. wizeguy4

    wizeguy4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    how did you make the connector for them since you did not use dummies? Did you make a port on the side of the flash that has wires soldered internally to where the battery terminals would normally be?
     
  10. IntheWorks

    IntheWorks windin film.. takin pics Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    16,928
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    earth
    yep. I have to actually add the ports, but I wired it, and tested it and it works perfect.... only problem is now I can't use batteries in it anymore.
     
  11. wizeguy4

    wizeguy4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    with 5 flashes, you dont need to use batteries in these tho.

    what have you decided to do for the port? you got a radio shack link?
     
  12. IntheWorks

    IntheWorks windin film.. takin pics Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    16,928
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    earth
  13. wizeguy4

    wizeguy4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    that connector can not be flush mounted? I would not be as worried about the pig tail as much as I would be concerned with strain the wires would be subect to at the connection to the board. I would put a small bit of epoxy over the hole the wires exit from if you choose this method
     
  14. IntheWorks

    IntheWorks windin film.. takin pics Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    16,928
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    earth
    I'm sure it could be flush mounted... it's just easier to drill a hole, rather than cut out a square. the pig tail issue is more about aesthetics for me. If I end up going that route, I'll definitely epoxy the hole.
     
  15. OlafBeserka

    OlafBeserka girls pee pee when they see me OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hella Bay Area
    I have a 550ex also. This external battery you guys made is just so you dont have to replace the aa as often? I should look into it more but im lazy to search right now heh
     
  16. wizeguy4

    wizeguy4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    lucifer - correct. and the recycle time, while does nto get any faster than what the flash and normal AA's can do, since it is a higher mAh battery and has more juice, your recycle time stays rather quick.
     

Share This Page