is a 250 too small?

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by zyg0te, Nov 24, 2005.

1. zyg0te

zyg0te I've made a huge mistake.

I have limited riding experience (about 3 hours on a ex500), and just a CA M-permit right now.

There are a few deals around here for a 98-02 ex250 for around 1k-1.6k which is right around my price range. Do you guys think that a 250 would be too small a bike to get as a first bike (plan on keeping it around 2 years)?

2. Subie Driver

Subie Driver Eye see what you did there.

I have a 200cc scooter, and it's been great for a first ride. Enough power to cruise at 75-80 on the highway, and more than enough for around town. I've only had it 6 months, so who knows how it will be in another year or two, but I'm loving it now. 21 hp and 350 lb is good, and I'm sure a 250cc bike will be even better. Of course, I'm already looking at what to get next, probably a Suzuki V-Strom DL650, or something similar.

3. Frequency

Frequency New Member

with a 250 you will be able to get a great feel for riding and be much more comfortable when you move up. only down fall is you won't be able to group ride too well

4. eck

eck New Member

You can never start out too small :) That will be a great way to take alot of the pressue of riding off of you so you're able to enjoy it for what its worth.

5. Jagrmaister

Jagrmaister New Member

Yes. Too small.

6. HMan

HMan grossly deformed

Depends on what you want to do with it. Do you have any curvy roads around? 250 is awesome for that. Commuting in town? Great for that. Highway riding (55mph highway)? Do good for that. Interstate? Not so great.

7. zyg0te

zyg0te I've made a huge mistake.

I guess the main reason for it will be simply to learn how to ride and improve skills. I would be taking it home occasionally (75 miles on highway), but for the most part it would be to get to school and work in city traffic.

I'm afraid I might outgrow the bike too fast

8. eck

eck New Member