ipod/car integration

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by robbinthehood, Dec 5, 2006.

  1. robbinthehood

    robbinthehood New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    39.67N, 75.75W
    Alright... so currently, i'm running my ipod through an fm transmitter in my car, but i'm tired of the static and bad sound quality.

    i have an alpine cda 9807 head unit, so i was wondering what my options were as far as connecting my ipod to it.

    here is a link to the head unit http://www.radiomancaraudio.com/detail.asp?PRODUCT_ID=alpine-cda9807

    what are my options as far as listening to my ipod through the stereo? i would prefer to be able to change songs etc on the actual ipod itself, not through the head unit.

    any help would be greatly appreciated
     
  2. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    don't think that one controls ipods
     
  3. robbinthehood

    robbinthehood New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    39.67N, 75.75W
    i spoke to someone today and i think there is a wire i can connect to the back of the head unit that has rca jacks, and then get an rca to 3.5mm cable to hook that up to the ipod. sounds like itll work
     
  4. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    kca-121b
     
  5. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    :doh: i thought you wanted to control thru head unit. yeah that adaptor above will do the trick
     
  6. robbinthehood

    robbinthehood New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    39.67N, 75.75W
    does my model have an auxilary input? i cant seem to find the manual and dont know too much about them
     
  7. Rob H

    Rob H New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    6,570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SCV, CA
    you can purchase a part from a company called P.I.E. called the ALPAIRCA. That piece will plug into the radio's AI-Net port on the back and runs to two rca inputs for aux. you can then plug into that a headphone jack to rca or dockcable to rca (most usually will charge your iPod). You will probally need to turn on the aux option under the funtion menu to access AUX as a source.
     
  8. robbinthehood

    robbinthehood New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    39.67N, 75.75W
    but my head unit definitely has the AI-Net port?
     
  9. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    yeah you have Ai Net. just get a kca-121b.
     
  10. robbinthehood

    robbinthehood New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    39.67N, 75.75W
    i'd rather just be able to change the songs through the ipod itself... i dont want to have to deal with doing it through the head unit. a friend of mine has an ipod ready alpine and its so tedious to find one song
     
  11. intgrakid88

    intgrakid88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    massachusettes
    dont get the rca to 3.5mm plug they suck they pick up noise form the motor and whine when you drive
     
  12. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    [​IMG]

    maybe you'll listen to me if you see a pic
     
  13. twistid

    twistid Banged By Super Models Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    40,728
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    The Kansass/Oklahomo Border
    you have an older alpine, you don't have the ablity to control the ipod with the alpine... like the newer alpines can, so the adapter being shown is exactly what you need.
     
  14. robbinthehood

    robbinthehood New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    39.67N, 75.75W
    should i get the rca to dock like this one? http://www.ipodmods.com/shop/1059-audio-connector.html the only thing is, i want to be able to charge it while i listen to it, but neither does it.
    with the 3.5mm i could still buy a cigarette lighter charger and plug that into the doc.. but i guess it picks up engine noise so ill scratch that idea
     
  15. robbinthehood

    robbinthehood New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    39.67N, 75.75W
  16. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    :rolleyes: *sigh*
     
  17. robbinthehood

    robbinthehood New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    39.67N, 75.75W
    i'm ordering the piece you posted, thanks for the help....i'm just also getting the belkin kit to charge it at the same time. sorry i just dont know a whole lot about these kinds of things
     
  18. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    ok, good deal. i was beginning to think you weren't quite getting it. glad you found what you needed! :bigthumb:
     

Share This Page