ipod and car connectivity

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by fade, Jun 6, 2005.

1. fade

fade tie your shoe bitch

im helping my friend so he can play his ipod through his car's stereo but it only has a cd player. btw its a hyundai xg300. please no hater comments.

we have several options i think.
    1) buy an aftermarket hu with an aux in the front or back
    2) buy oem cd player with tape deck
    3) fm modulator

here are the problems
    1) aftermarket HU's fitment will be a problem because of the odd cd player size (close to GM's huge ones) and im not sure how i might go about getting a bracket for it.
    2) oem cd player/tape deck is costly
    3) how do i power the fm modulator? do i tap into an existing power source? :hs:

i am a total audio noob so help will be greatly appreciated.

there is one more option i think, in the back of the oem cd player, there is an input for a cd changer through an 8-pin din socket. however this one has a rather odd layout?

[​IMG]

thanks guys

:naughty:

Last edited: Jun 6, 2005
  2. veonake

veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

You could probably create an adapter that would send the 2 channels to the correct pins, but it would be tricky to figure out what type of signal to send to the other pins to make the OEM deck recognize the connection.

FM modulater is powered via the iPod. So, you may want to buy a Belkin car adapter.

My recommendation is the aftermarket HU with aux input. It will provide the best sound out of the three options. Go to www.crutchfield.com and enter your friend's car information and they should have a bracket....

I just went to their site, and looked at kits for a 2001 xg300, and it says it's a standard fit. What year is your friend's car? It doesn't seem like you'll need a bracket of any kind...

3. fade

fade tie your shoe bitch

so how do i turn on/off the fm modulator? doesnt that have something to do with the 12v power ?

[​IMG]

i put in 2001 xg300 and it says modified fit :hs: