iPhone activation done in iTunes -- Apple Release

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ryckmonster, Jun 26, 2007.

  1. ryckmonster

    ryckmonster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. omgwtfbbqryan

    omgwtfbbqryan OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    14,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    no unlimited sms included in plan :o
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2007
  3. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    so are you going to be able to buy it at the apple store for the same price as with cingular but w/o a contract?
     
  4. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    ok watching the demo, i noticed there is an "iphone" data plan. $20 unlimited data and 1500 messages.

    if you know anyone that works in an at&t store, have them put that package on your phone (other than the iphone) and see if it works. thats the cheapest package for all that stuff
     
  5. skolen

    skolen Guest

    In the video they show the iPhone as having 74Gb free. I wonder what's up w/that.

    Also, you can't buy this and use it as just an iPod. None of the features work until activated through AT&T.
     
  6. vwpilot

    vwpilot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    I doubt that might work. I imagine that is how the phone is being subsidized. You pay full price for the phone, but get the discounted data plan.

    Plus they likely know you wont be going through as much data as some others since its not 3G and not likely to be used heavily for data.

    Also, does anyone know if you'll be able to tether this to a laptop and use it as a modem for internet access? I'm thinking they may not allow that since they dont have an option for that kind of data usage like they do with all the other smartphones and pda phones.
     
  7. biawokauns

    biawokauns New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Republic of Kalifornia
    somebody is gonna try it in the eastcoast, and i hpoe i can profit fro their expierences :cool:
     
  8. newsroom_can

    newsroom_can Canada eh?

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    17,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    :werd: I noticed that too.
     
  9. neonwheels

    neonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    107,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    I thought it was 7.4 :dunno:
     
  10. neonwheels

    neonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    107,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Also, they say it can sync with Outlook...

    I gotta say I'm :x: it's true.
     
  11. ryckmonster

    ryckmonster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
    ya thats what i thought i saw... that would mean the iPhones version of OSX w/ all its apps and stuff is about 0.6 GB??
     
  12. poweraid

    poweraid OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    55,776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    no unlimited sms no care
     
  13. ryckmonster

    ryckmonster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
    how to i figure out my current account number with sprint??
     
  14. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    I would hope that all that stuff is on a seperate memory, leaving the main flash free for your documents.
     
  15. vwpilot

    vwpilot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, its confirmed in pre release testing that the OS takes up almost 700MB on the device.
     
  16. omgwtfbbqryan

    omgwtfbbqryan OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    14,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    wait so is there no sim card?
     
  17. ryckmonster

    ryckmonster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0

    A.) why would you need one with this device? (it syncs everything thru itunes)
    B.) if it accepted a sim card then they couldn't keep the service exclusive to at&t...


    ** i could be wrong, caz i think jobs actually said there would be a sim card slot. but idk know.. iv'e never had one b4
     
  18. omgwtfbbqryan

    omgwtfbbqryan OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    14,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    because what happens if i wanna switch phones temporarily
     
  19. ryckmonster

    ryckmonster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok well i just did some googling, and the consensus seems to be that it WILL have a gsm sim card slot
     
  20. newsroom_can

    newsroom_can Canada eh?

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    17,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    [​IMG]

    Looks like sim card will be at the top... :dunno:
     
  21. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it should be having a sim unless they are hard-wiring that in.
     

Share This Page