Iphone 3.0 v.Can't believe this hasn't been made yet

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Morpheus647, Mar 17, 2009.

  1. Morpheus647

    Morpheus647 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. tehganj

    tehganj oh, hi.

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LA, Cali
    yes it has
     
  3. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Wow I'm excited now!
     
  4. MrEous

    MrEous OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland (DFW), TX
    Maybe new firmware updates can include some of this...*fingers crossed*
     
  5. texchef

    texchef Guest

    Downloading 3.0 now. :noes:
     
  6. Pitt

    Pitt 1-1-11 — Never Forget OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    150,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Injured Reserve
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (iPhone'd your mom. IDB: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

    copy/paste is a nice change
     
  7. iridium130

    iridium130 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA --> Denver, CO
    About damn time....the iPhone 2G should've shipped with this firmware!!
     
  8. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    dev? Report back on how the new stuff is working.
     
  9. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Warning for those thinking about upgrading to 3.0 beta.

    Your iPhone will no longer work for making phone calls. At this point the firmware is only available to developers and iPhone's unique ID must be authorized for the 3.0 upgrade (and Apple checks that). People may hack it at a later time.

    In addition, get this, you have to have active service on the iPhone too at the time! :rofl:

    Looks like I won't be testing it even on our development phone.
     
  10. SeanJhn9

    SeanJhn9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    6,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think you have to pay a 99 developer fee do be able to dl and use it
     
  11. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    This is true. Looks like you'll be best off using an iPod Touch for development.
     
  12. MrEous

    MrEous OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland (DFW), TX
    Developers can get 100 beta testers per application. If you contact the right person they can let you in.
    Essentially they add your UDID to the list for Apple and you can use a 3.0 IPSW to Shift+Restore in iTunes.

    Just did it....can't wait for MMS to become active!!!
     
  13. The Bilingual Gringo

    The Bilingual Gringo KMD, 3rd Bass, just ace in the hole

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    Those push displays during that presentation were pretty :cool:

    I can't wait for the landscape. I still hate texting on this thing.
     
  14. SeanJhn9

    SeanJhn9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    6,108
    Likes Received:
    0

    how do you do this on a mac? i tried doing shift+restore in itunes and it didn't work, do i have to hold down something else for it to work?
     
  15. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    maybe option or command? when you do it it will ask you for a firmware to send
     
  16. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's Option+Restore
     
  17. MrEous

    MrEous OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland (DFW), TX
    Sorry, I'm PC...just come in here since PC section lacks iphone knowledge.
    :hsd:

    As said above, Option+Restore works for Macs. :)
     

Share This Page