MMA Interview w/ Nate Quarry on purses and sponsorship

Discussion in 'OT Bar' started by metallikatz56, Oct 29, 2005.

1. metallikatz56

metallikatz56 New Member

KM: You were talking about how much the three fights in UFC in one year helped financially.
    NQ: I don't think people really understand how low our payscale is. No-one that is fighting currently got into fighting to be rich and famous; we all got in for the love of the sport. I fought for five years with a full-time job. I've been training for nine years and quit my job three and a half years ago so I could pursue my dream of just fighting. Just to make ends meet bare bones $30,000 a year I had to fight that often. That is what a lot of people don't understand about the sponsors and how much it has hurt us to not be able to give the shoutouts, first on Spike and now in UFC. I usually stay away from the forums, occasionally I'll check in to see how things are going or what happened in the show and I saw a couple threads where the fans are really happy now the fighters weren't giving shoutouts to Rich's Tire Barn and Sprawl Shorts. All I could think to myself was ‘how ungrateful could you possibly be?' You have people like myself that are training twice a day week after week to provide you with what is now free entertainment on Spike and you can't give us thirty seconds of your time, will sit and watch the same commercials for a BK "double"...will sit and listen to that but when a fighter needs to double his purse or perhaps triple it or make an extra $1000 on top of what his entry-level purse is into the UFC $2000.
    KM: That is half the income cut away.