Internet vs phone

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Pioneer, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,090
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    PNW
    I have Comcast cable internet why does the phone interrupt it at times?
     
  2. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    wireless router + cordless phone?
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it's cable internet. It's a shared network, and you are subject to traffic at the time of the call. as a result, cable phone can be very unreliable.
     
  4. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,090
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    PNW
    Yup, but it doesn't always do it, phone location doesn't seem to matter either.
     
  5. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, they should have QoS to prevent this, right?

    Call the cable company. Complain.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    QoS helps.... but nothing can prevent outright saturation or outage. Furthermore, fluctuations in latency cause jitter which is one of the larger problems with consumer-grade voip.
     
  7. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wait, why can't QoS prevent outright saturation? Thats its job.
     
  8. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    Try changing the channel in the router configuration, or replace the phone with something that doesn't operate in the 2.4GHz range.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    because within each node the QoS is worthless. Not all modems will support it properly, and some support it more than others. So just like cable has always been, a few people can ruin it for the rest.


    As an example, this is the diff between a Motorola 5101 and 5121.
     
  10. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,090
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    PNW
    :wtf:

    Oh Lucy, you got some splainin to do
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    wifi supports 11+ channels.
     
  12. Drifter87

    Drifter87 Yippi-kay-ay, Motherfucker

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,173
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use to have this problem. I had a 2.4ghz phone + 2.4ghz wireless router, when anyone made a phone call, all the computers on the WiFi got kicked off. So I plugged in my old 900Mhz phone and everything seemed to run perfectly fine.
     
  13. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,090
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    PNW
    And how do I change this? :squint:
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    replace user, change channel?





    seriously tho, are you joking? I mean have you even TRIED to look in the router config? Have you even briefly glanced at the manual?
     
  15. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,090
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    PNW
    No :mamoru:
     

Share This Page