WEB Internet Radio with external server

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Shamrock, Aug 9, 2007.

  1. Shamrock

    Shamrock I can in end the world in a Holocaust OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    10,985
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I get a website I own to stream music? What Ip would I use and what port what I use?
     
  2. Kevin

    Kevin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    87,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    The IP of your server.

    I use tversity and my home laptop to stream all mine.
     
  3. Shamrock

    Shamrock I can in end the world in a Holocaust OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    10,985
    Likes Received:
    0
    will it be my shared ip?
     
  4. Cthalupa

    Cthalupa New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    46,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    You need to be allowed to run something like a shoutcast server. Shared hosting almost never allows this
     
  5. Shamrock

    Shamrock I can in end the world in a Holocaust OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    10,985
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am relaying off my shoutcast dnas server. Will this work I can connect to my shared ip address and it goes to stream my file.
     
  6. Shamrock

    Shamrock I can in end the world in a Holocaust OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    10,985
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Cthalupa

    Cthalupa New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    46,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    That looks like a residential Cox IP, according to ARIN. For your "website" to stream the music, you have to have the shoutcast server running on that server.
     
  8. Shamrock

    Shamrock I can in end the world in a Holocaust OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    10,985
    Likes Received:
    0
    damn....how do I get my server to run something like that?

    I'm using inmotionhosting
     
  9. Cthalupa

    Cthalupa New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    46,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Contact their support. According to their page, anything beyond the most basic package supports streaming audio.

    There's probably information on how to set it up in your control panel
     
  10. Shamrock

    Shamrock I can in end the world in a Holocaust OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    10,985
    Likes Received:
    0
    theres not.....
     
  11. Shamrock

    Shamrock I can in end the world in a Holocaust OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    10,985
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,014
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    St. Louis
    are yo uwanting to run a shoutcast server from your computer or from your host's server? If they allow it they can install it probably if theres an option for it, otherwise you can run one from home to http://sliceofdanny.com/setup_shoutcast.htm
     
  13. Shamrock

    Shamrock I can in end the world in a Holocaust OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    10,985
    Likes Received:
    0
    run it from my hosts server. It says it can stream mp3's but I only see the option of uploading the mp3 to the server and having it stream after i uploaded it.
     
  14. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,014
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    St. Louis
    contact support see what they say :dunno:
     
  15. Shamrock

    Shamrock I can in end the world in a Holocaust OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    10,985
    Likes Received:
    0
    Emailed them....
     
  16. Cthalupa

    Cthalupa New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    46,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Probably can't, then.
     
  17. Shamrock

    Shamrock I can in end the world in a Holocaust OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    10,985
    Likes Received:
    0
    fuck me they said I couldn't and I would have to upgrade to a dedicated server 1 gig ram for over a grand every 6 months
     
  18. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,014
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    St. Louis
    To be expected from hosts, upsell to the customer. Shoutcast servers do tax a server so I can see why they would want to upsell
     
  19. Shamrock

    Shamrock I can in end the world in a Holocaust OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    10,985
    Likes Received:
    0
    the bandwidth is way more than I need though...way more...I usually only do A show on thursdays and stream maybe 2 gig at the most. Using mp3pro encoder.
     
  20. Cthalupa

    Cthalupa New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    46,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
  21. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    in order for you to run it on your shared hosting account with shoutcast you need to have root access in order to start the service. I used to host the radio nickos show for a coupel months
     
  22. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,014
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    St. Louis
    You can do it with a regular account provided its not a limited shell account and gcc is not disabled they dont allow it probably cause of resources. I had someone install a shoutcast on my server and it cause the load to go up 25% or better
     
  23. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    well at the time the servers I had it running on were dual xeons and I didn't see any spike but nickos would just im me when the sc server wasn't up and I'd turn it on ./scserver something like that I forget it was a year ago I think.
     

Share This Page