Internet Explorer home page

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by kumar_a, Apr 7, 2004.

  1. kumar_a

    kumar_a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    153,964
    Likes Received:
    633
    Location:
    Dallas
    No matter what I set the home page to, it comes back as res://mshp.dll/index.html#10213 next time I start the browser.

    Any clue?
     
  2. kumar_a

    kumar_a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    153,964
    Likes Received:
    633
    Location:
    Dallas
    many web pages also load up but freeze for like 5 seconds before i can scroll up or down or click on something

    I did a scan with McAfee and it didnt turn anything up.
     
  3. itchiban

    itchiban Guest

    did you run adaware? I had the same brower hijack problem a month or so ago. Adaware cleaned it up for me.
     
  4. kumar_a

    kumar_a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    153,964
    Likes Received:
    633
    Location:
    Dallas
    Thanks I will try that although I think its more than just the internet.

    I just checked CPU usage and it was at 100%. :wtf: and one program was using 99% of it.
     
  5. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Get HiJackThis http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/

    if you want to try locking your homepage so try and help it from getting changed in the future, you can edit the registry.

    1. Back up the registry first

    2. Navigate to this string:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel
    {for some reason, atleast for me, it's showing a space in the middle of the word Internet, it shouldn't be there}

    If the keys for Internet Explorer and Control Panel are not present, add them manually.
    a. Right-click the Microsoft key folder, click New, and choose Key
    b. Name it Internet Explorer.
    c. Right-click the Internet Explorer key folder, click New, and choose Key.
    d. Name it Control Panel..​
    3. Right-click the Control Panel key folder and choose "new DWORD value." Rename the value "Homepage."

    4. Right-click the Homepage value, choose Modify, and change the value from "0" to "1."
     
  6. kumar_a

    kumar_a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    153,964
    Likes Received:
    633
    Location:
    Dallas
    I think my computer is just fucked overall.

    It keeps freezing up.

    Whenever I run disk cleanup, it doesnt work and takes up 99% of CPU usage.

    Whenever I open a new web page, all the contents appear but I cannot click on anything for 5 seconds.

    I am going to go toss this hd out the window.
     
  7. kumar_a

    kumar_a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    153,964
    Likes Received:
    633
    Location:
    Dallas
    well at least you guys help fixed the home page problem :hs:
     
  8. kumar_a

    kumar_a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    153,964
    Likes Received:
    633
    Location:
    Dallas
    FUCK YES

    first ad ware and that other program you guys mentioned solved my home page problems

    NOW I did a search on google and going under tools, options, advance, and UNCHECKING "enable 3rd party browser extensions" fixed all the freezing.

    Please remember this in case anyone asks for that again. I know all will and thanks again for your help.
     

Share This Page