GUN Interested in an AR15 or similar

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by GiRaff3, Jan 14, 2009.

1. GiRaff3

GiRaff3 New Member

I am a Soldier and have been firing the M16 for a few years. I am finally interested in buying something similar to have for various reasons. I feel comfortable firing and maintaining it.

I did some google searching, but I was not satisfied with my results, so I was hoping some OTers could set me straight.

I live in PA, what kind of steps do I need to take to legally own an AR15 or similar?

I am interested in a smaller version, similar to the M4. Of course, I would like to spend as little money as possible, but I want to make sure the weapon I end up purchasing isn't a complete piece of shit. Where should I look, what do you guys recommend?

I am a noob when it comes to the civilian world and guns. I have had a couple of military M16s over the last few years, but they spent the majority of their time in the arms room until I had a reason to use it.

Thanks in advance!

2. I'm not knowledgeable about specific PA laws, I'm sure someone else will cover that. As far as your choices go with weapons, they'll make your head spin. If you want something similar to an M4, that's pretty easy. There are countless companies out there that make M4 copies (semi-auto only of course.) If you're looking for a decent gun for plinking, then pretty much any of the ARs in the $800 range would be ok. If you want something a little more robust, you're looking in the $1000+ range. You can either buy something pre-built by a manufacturer, or you can piece something together yourself. If you're looking for a specific manufacturer to check out in the $1000 range, look for LMT, CMMG, Bushmaster, DPMS, S&W, Stag, or RRA. You can get a quality rifle from any of these manufacturers, and I'm sure people will chime in with their personal preferences. Maybe someone will even post "the chart."