Intel SS4200E NAS

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TheRider, Feb 27, 2008.

  1. TheRider

    TheRider Geeky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,362
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    San Diego
    I just got in a Intel SS4200E http://www.intel.com/design/servers/storage/ss4200e/index.htm

    I don't think they have been released to the public yet, but very soon. It's somewhat larget than I anticipated, but overall a pretty solid little unit. Finishing up the NAS performance toolkit on it and seeing some numbers up to about 56MB/s out of it, which is a substantial increase from competing units like the Infrant ReadNas. Those numbers incidentaly come with 4x 80GB low end drives with 8mb cache each, should increase rather nicely with the 32mb cache 7200.11 Seagates.

    Anyone else a NAS fan?
     
  2. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    How are you connecting to it (LAN/USB/eSATA)?

    I wish I could afford a dedicated NAS but I just use a RAID controller in my main desktop instead. It works fine but it would be nice to not need to turn it on when I'm using my HTPC. That and to it would clean out the cable clutter in my desktop.
     
  3. TheRider

    TheRider Geeky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,362
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    San Diego
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
     
  5. TheRider

    TheRider Geeky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,362
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    San Diego
    I think the best feature of this box is in the model without EMC lifeline or if you pull the DOM out. You can then load whatever OS you want headless onto the box giving you a perfect platform for just about anything that doesn't demand super high proc power. The chassis has 1 internal PCI-E 1x slot that you can run a flex cable out to mount say a PCI-E 16x video card into for loading purposes, then simply pull it out and button it back up with your favorite unix or windows OS.
     
  6. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    i love NAS. one thing that is annoying as a storage admin is putting enterprise level arrays in and then assigning disk to a Windows host so they can make it a file server. it is so much cheaper to go with NAS and you are already limited by the clients' network connection to the fileserver anyway. so, it isn't like you are introducing an extra variable into the equation.

    my favorite NAS devices also have iSCSI available. i know that usually wouldn't be available on a consumer grade NAS device, but i think you can do it with Linux so...
     
  7. StevesVR4

    StevesVR4 Get Arrested

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the expected price for a unit like this?
     
  8. TheRider

    TheRider Geeky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,362
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    San Diego
    The unit running EMC runs about 500 bucks sans disks, the unit without EMC ie roll your own is 400.
     
  9. TheRider

    TheRider Geeky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,362
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    San Diego
    Some stats Infrant/Netgear vs Intel

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
     
  11. TheRider

    TheRider Geeky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,362
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    San Diego
    What about it doesn't look right? Remember it's a nas...
     
  12. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    The new one with the big Seagates is pushing less MB/s than the old one is.
     
  13. TheRider

    TheRider Geeky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,362
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    San Diego
    Actually you are seeing an Infrant ReadyNas versus the Intel SS4200 Nas, totally different boxes, still running tests with new 500's in the SS4200, will post them when I'm done.
     
  14. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I understand that they are different boxes, but the big Seagates should be able to
    stomp the 8mb drives.
     
  15. TheRider

    TheRider Geeky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,362
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    San Diego
    It's a DIFFERENT NAS BOX, totally different architecture, one has a custom sparc code few hundred mhz proc, the other is a Celeron proc, obviously the bottleneck is the Processor not the drive in that comparison.
     
  16. TheRider

    TheRider Geeky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,362
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    San Diego
    New numbers...

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page