Intel P4 3.2 noticable difference?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SubThermal, Nov 30, 2004.

  1. SubThermal

    SubThermal Colder than Cold

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    18,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
  2. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    small.

    true performance increase depends on the whole system really. YOu could have a kick ass cpu but crappy ram / agp / hdd's and it would be useless.

    what are the rest of the specs on your system?
     
  3. SubThermal

    SubThermal Colder than Cold

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    18,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    2.8 gig P4 processor
    512 RAM
    Radeon 9800 Pro video card
    ASUS P4P800-E mobo
    120 gig HD
     
  4. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    what speed ram?

    That's a pretty hefty system so yea the cpu will increase performance. whether it's noticable or not is up in the air. If you do stuff that takes advantage of hyperthreading you'll definitly see an increase.

    Nice system btw.
     
  5. SubThermal

    SubThermal Colder than Cold

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    18,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    thanks a lot, if only i could find the ram model number...ugh, out with the screwdriver
     
  6. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    i'm guessing pc3000 ~ pc3400 range
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    1 stick or 2 sticks. you'll see a nice performance jump if you switch to dual channel. For me, HT made a big difference. Your mileage may vary.
     
  8. SubThermal

    SubThermal Colder than Cold

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    18,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I have one stick 512 pc3200
     
  9. SubThermal

    SubThermal Colder than Cold

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    18,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    jesus ogre, you have 666 posts
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    well, not anymore, at least... But if you've got 1 stick of 512 ddr400, then your money is best spent on another stick... much faster than HT.
     
  11. SubThermal

    SubThermal Colder than Cold

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    18,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    so your saying that I wont freeze up as much if i invest 70 in another stick?

    because my friend got a second stick, and he said it didnt improve performance much
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it won't help with freezes, no. If you have that problem, then you should consider formating and re-installing.

    but I think you'd get more out of DC than out of HT -- especially considering the $200+ price difference.
     
  13. SubThermal

    SubThermal Colder than Cold

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    18,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    right, i didnt mean the whole computer freezing, i meant seperate programs freezing when using multitasking, sometimes to the point where they crash.

    ^^ thats what im trying to fix
     
  14. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    If you're running a bunch of memory intensive programs, the freezing is probably due to virtual memory thrashing. In this case, more RAM should help. Next time you run into this problem, go into task manager and see how much virtual memory the programs are using. If a program is using a lot more VM than physical memory, definately add more ram.
     

Share This Page