Intel Core Duo?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by deusexaethera, Feb 28, 2006.

  1. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm looking at a laptop with a Core Duo CPU, and it's rated at 2.0GHz. Is that 2.0GHz per core, or two 1.0GHz cores that Intel has "added together"? I would assume it's 2.0GHz/core, but I wouldn't put it past any company's marketing department to lie to the public.
     
  2. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    2ghz per core...
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yay! Time to get me a laptop workstation.
     
  4. fintheman

    fintheman I will ebay O/T!

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,092
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brentwood, TN
    I can attest to those fuckers being able to fly.
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Core Duos? Good. For the money they cost, they'd better fly, and not just out the window. I'm looking forward to being able to run heavy processes in Realtime mode without losing the ability to move the mouse. Which brings me to my next thread...
     
  6. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,443
    Likes Received:
    12
    The correct term is "dual core". And yes, they fly.
     
  7. wdawg

    wdawg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The FUTURE!!!
    Right, but Intel has branded them Core Duos.
     
  8. Echilon

    Echilon Reichsführer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    No, actually it's Core Duo. The Core Duo is a dual core processor. You thinking of retards you say 'Duo core' :p
     
  9. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Macbook Pro ftw
     
  10. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Great processor. Can't wait till desktop boards are for sale on north america.
     
  11. Harry Caray

    Harry Caray Fine purveyor of x.264, h.264 & TS HD-Video !!! HD

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2001
    Messages:
    17,176
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    MyCrews:4x4,SoCal,Tesla,EV's
    What you have to remember is.....

    The DUO, is NOT 2 processors.... :rolleyes:

    is has 2 execution cores, which allow parallel threads (not multi threaded) apps to run better...

    BUT !!!... (there's always a but!!!)

    they are mobile based cores (Pentium-M) and since there are 2 cores... they share only 1 bus, and they share the same cache :ugh:

    It has been talked on other forums that Intel right now should have (and is) developing a 2nd gen DUO already in which the P-M cores keep their own Cache( which is why they are so fast anyways)...

    but in essence... yea... 2 seperate cores that share 1 internal bus, and 1 internal cache...

    http://www.intel.com/products/processor/coreduo/product-brief.pdf

    http://www.intel.com/products/processor/coreduo/

    P.S. and dev's are having a interesting time (aka HARD) with compilers getting the most performance from GCC and such and getting the 2 cores to talk at the same time or work together in harmony...

    The out-of-order execution problem comes into mind
     
  12. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Next generation Intel mobile CPU's (Merom) will also share cache. Not only that, most of the next generation Intel CPU's will be using Smart Cache. Including Woodcrest and Conroes :dunno:

    I got this from Digit-life.com
    "Shared L2 Cache provides a higher integration level of processor cores. In systems with separate caches, cores exchange data via a communication interface (bus or switch) that connects these cores outside L2 Caches. But in systems with a shared cache, such data are available to both processor cores directly from this cache. Such an organization allows to reduce access times to remote data as well as to decrease the bus (switch) traffic.

    But these are not the only advantages of a shared cache. A process, executed in one CPU, may require more space in L2 Cache for its data than a process in the other CPU, so a shared adaptive cache provides more flexibility in their optimal allocation."
     
  13. Harry Caray

    Harry Caray Fine purveyor of x.264, h.264 & TS HD-Video !!! HD

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2001
    Messages:
    17,176
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    MyCrews:4x4,SoCal,Tesla,EV's
    Yea, that's why the AMD's have seperate cache's.... and are faster at lower clock speeds...
     
  14. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't want the cores to run the same program at the same time. I want them to run different programs at the same time. To me, the only point of having a multi-core system is so that unrelated processes can run simultaneously. Multithreading is great in theory, but if I have multiple cores running multiple threads of the same program, I might as well just have a single, faster core. Such has been my experience at work.
     

Share This Page