WEB Instant domain registration and propagation?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MrBrotato, Jan 11, 2008.

  1. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    It has been several years since I registered a domain, but every time I ever have it has taken at least 24 hours to go through, same thing when updating. But today I registered a new domain through eNom and added it to my hosting account, it was active instantly. I was amazed and now even when I update my contact info, a whois query shows updated info immediately. Is this normal?
     
  2. Soju N Coke

    Soju N Coke New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    32,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dunno lol
    that's how mine was setup
     
  3. 2ofdem

    2ofdem OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    114,854
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    aus.vic.mel
    dns propogation is alot better then it was. Also if you do whois on your registrars site of course itll chage as soon as you change it.
     
  4. drpepper

    drpepper Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    38,076
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Antonio
    mine takes about 15 for the website to show.
     
  5. Jesse

    Jesse PSN: iamajesse; XBL: Inhale My Rod; G8 GT crew; Ne OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    25,649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California :: (925)
    Just because it shows up for you doesn't mean it shows up for everyone else.

    Rule of thumb: give it a day or two before heavily promoting it; otherwise you will be promoting a godaddy or eNom parked domain page. :mamoru:
     
  6. drpepper

    drpepper Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    38,076
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Antonio
    4.2.2.1
    4.2.2.2 dns servers ftw
     
  7. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (Dell Axim X50v: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 4.01; Windows CE; PPC; 240x320))

    I was doing the whois from a 3rd party to check it out.
     
  8. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (Dell Axim X50v: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 4.01; Windows CE; PPC; 240x320))

    I figured so. I tried from a proxy and that worked as well but here at school it does not.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2008
  9. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
    I use 4.2.2.1 and 4.2.2.5 :o
     

Share This Page