Installing Windows 7??

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by negative zero, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    I downloaded the beta win7 the other day and was thinking of installing it. Problem is I don't want it to be my main machine because... well...it's beta.

    I do have an external (500 GB seagate eSATA) drive that I was thinking might work.


    Since it's still SATA it should still be fine, right? What kind of setup can I do to keep my Vista as well as use install Win7? Can I do a dual boot?


    Suggestions?
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Run Windows 7 off the spare drive in a VM? That's what I'm doing right now.

    I attempted to upgrade from Vista to Windows 7 last week. After the the upgrade, I got a few blue screens and then a message saying that the upgrade failed and it reverted back to my Vista install...

    I'm gonna have to keep it in a VM until I can dig up a spare machine to try it on.
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    How the hell did you download the W7 beta? I couldn't find it.
     
  4. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2009
  5. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    i installed mine on vmware

    to dual boot, get the likes of partition magic, create a new partition and install there
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aha. Okay, now I'm downloading it. It'll probably take the rest of the day and most of the evening, at this rate.
     
  7. gui3

    gui3 all the dude ever wanted was his rug back

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    2
    you could install it to the external, and then just hit F12 (usually) during startup and select the USB drive to run the OS from there, or change the BIOS to boot from USB if it's connected.

    i'm using Win7 on my mac virtualized (virtualbox, parallels, VM, doesn't matter) and its working nicely.
     
  8. r00tman

    r00tman Archiver of LOLs

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, ON █♣█
    I've got Win7 running on my main machine at home (risky, I know), but almost everything runs great...the only problems I've had were with Windows Live Messenger 2008, Skype, Daemon Tools and Symantec Endpoint Protection.
     
  9. jbuffethed

    jbuffethed Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maxwell AFB
    I couldnt get daemon tools to work either. Compatability to XP SP2 didnt work either. I ripped my Battlefield 2 cd to an iso and play through daemon tools, so I dont need the disk. Still beta. Other than that, no probs.
     

Share This Page