Installing linux... and then KERNEL PANIC!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Valence, Feb 14, 2004.

  1. Valence

    Valence Gustav Refugee

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Select either the option to install red hat 9 graphically or text mode, goes to load, and the I get a kernel Panic! wtf??!! WHat do I do now? :rant2:
     
  2. mr jenzie

    mr jenzie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    32,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OT'S SECRET G-MINOR PIZZA BRONY
    just a hard reset (switch off and on from the wall socket) and let the installation process continue

    it should work, but no guarentees
     
  3. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Try again :dunno:

    If it keeps doing it, then try a new CD or different distro.
     
  4. Valence

    Valence Gustav Refugee

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    In idle task - not syncing, aboe that it says <0> Kernel Panic: Attempted to kill the idle task!
    :wtf:
     
  5. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :dunno: Probably a sign, I would never trust a distro whose installer crashes before it even starts. Go get SuSE 9.0, it's awesome :bigthumb:
     
  6. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    :werd:
     
  7. Valence

    Valence Gustav Refugee

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    umm where do i get suse
    how do i get it
    noob here, gotta talk in plain english
     
  8. Valence

    Valence Gustav Refugee

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    fuckit , freebsd
     
  9. ChosenGSR

    ChosenGSR Mama always said you'd be the chosen one

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    51,094
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    HoCo, MD
    I wanted to give SuSe 9.0 a try but it doesn't detect my network card to download itself lol. So I just installed fedora core 1, I like it.
     
  10. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yeah, I had that same problem with the SuSE installer. I just pulled the card from my other machine this time for the installation, last time I borrowed one from work. Once it's installed I can install the drivers for my card no problem (nVidia on-board networking).

    You can d/l the SuSE installer from www.suse.com.
     
  11. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    lol, freeBSD is not any easier to install than linux is. Unless they've vastly improved their installer over the last couple years
     
  12. Valence

    Valence Gustav Refugee

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    sixteen hours and still no freebsd lol :rofl: taking forever to do everything
     
  13. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    SuSE = maybe an hour of active installation on your part + a few hours of downloading packages (depending on your internet connection).
     

Share This Page