Installing legit copy of windows over pirated...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Papa Sil, Oct 4, 2007.

  1. Papa Sil

    Papa Sil Privileged User

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    9,286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    , Location, Location
    Alright, my brother had a friend of his do something with his computer. I don't know if it was to build a new one, fix it or whatever -- Anyhow, the guy ends up putting a copy of Windows XP on the machine which just so happened to be a pirated copy of some sort.

    Well all the while my brother actually has had a legit copy of his own that he purchased at home. He asked me if there was anyway he could install his Windows Home Edition over what ever is on there right now without having to reformat that drive. He doesn't want, nor does he know how to back up all his data and reformat.

    So, OT... Is there a way?
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Boot from the CD, make like you're going to install Windows on an empty hard drive, and then when it says it's found your old Windows, choose to do a repair installation.
     
  3. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    can't he just change the key to the legit one.

    magic jelly bean does this, right?

    I wouldn't advise installing windows over windows.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    format and re-install. the only safe choice.
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried to use Magic Jelly Bean to change Windows codes. Last I checked, it only changes Office codes.

    I did used to have a Windows XP Key Changer, but it requires that the new key jive with the installation ID code generated from the CD's serial number. Since using a different CD will require having a different serial number, you have to reinstall to rewrite the installation ID code so the new key will work.
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    If it was illegal, my bet is it was XP Pro - who pirates the home edition?
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dunno, but a repair will still work. And if it doesn't work, then he's still gotta reformat and reinstall, so it's no great loss -- a couple of hours to try the repair, at most.
     
  8. Papa Sil

    Papa Sil Privileged User

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    9,286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    , Location, Location
    Thanks for all the great info so far. I asked him and he did verify that it is XP Pro on the computer. He has XP Home.

    Should I tell him to do the repair? I told him he will probably have to reformat and he'd about had a conniption.
     
  9. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Pro > Home

    If the pirated copy is good, getting updates and all,... just leave it as is.
     
  10. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
  11. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Can't do a repair on XP Pro and put home on it.
     
  12. 4thgenceli

    4thgenceli Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did this on my system.

    Had cracked XP pro on there. Threw in legit XP pro disc. Went thru normal install process (didn't repair or anything, didn't format either). Used legit key, activated online, lost NO data.







    **edit**
    DISCLAIMER! Just cuz it worked for me doesn't mean hold me responsible for any fuckups.
     

Share This Page