Installing a new OS without format?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Bausk, Feb 25, 2008.

  1. Bausk

    Bausk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    11,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    Can I install Windows XP without formatting the hard drive? My wife has Vista on her laptop and is have some serious resource issues while trying to play games, while I run the game on my older pc very well on XP. On the game forums there are tons of threads about people having lag issues with Vista, and no real fixes.

    So I am thinking of reinstalling XP, but I don't want to format and lose her data, music, etc.
     
  2. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    First of all... do you still want to use Vista? Or do you want to revert back to XP? I know in XP you can simply rename the windows folder and reinstall on the same partition. (I think that's how you do it) Anyway, don't know much about Vista so I'm really no help.
     
  3. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    You can do it but it's gonna be alot better to put her data onto a thumbdrive and wipe and reload. You're gonna have to reinstall the games/programs anyways ...
     
  4. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    no, don't be lazy. backup your wife's data, format, and do a clean install
    vista and xp are different

    an alternative is to setup a dual OS config
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Be aware that you'll lose DirectX 10 if you go back to XP. If your games require DirectX 10, then you'll just have to get a more powerful computer or turn down the graphics settings.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    always format.
     
  7. 1999TL

    1999TL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    word.

    upgrades are more headaches than what it is worth.
     
  8. Bausk

    Bausk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    11,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    I'm trying to format like I've always done. When I reboot with the disc in, it says there is no hard disk. When I load up the OS disc from in windows, the option to begin installation is greyed out. WTF is my problem.

    Also: Right click C drive > Format > "You cannot format that drive".
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2008
  9. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    XP disc? The XP disc doesn't have drivers for the HD controller. You need to put the drivers on a floppy disc, or use nLite to create a bootable XP disc with the drivers slipstreamed in.
     
  10. Bausk

    Bausk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    11,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    I guess I don't understand why I can't install from the disk. I tried it at work and it would let me on that pc (not running vista), but I'm having trouble here.
     
  11. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    does the BIOS detect the primary drive properly?

    windows will seek disk0 or whatever is the primary drive.
    if it doesn't find that, it will use the next one.
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you need the driver for the controller, and you have to press F6 to load it, during setup.
     
  13. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    XP doesn't know about Serial ATA. You have to give it the drivers it needs, on a floppy disk.

    If that computer has an IDE hard drive, then something fishy is going on.
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    talking out your ass again?

    XP can install on many SATA drives if the controller is running in compatibilty mode.

    Likewise, XP doesn't have drivers for many recent IDE cards.
     
  15. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Not true... I've had a few machines with SATA drives and never had to supply Windows setup any drivers.
     
  16. Bausk

    Bausk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    11,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    It is booting from the CD, and starting the install of XP, but even after wiping the partition it is still now saying:


    The CDROM/DVD is the first on the list under the BIOS Boot menu.
     
  17. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    somewhere at the start of setup, it will ask you to press F6 to load any extra drivers. this is where you load SATA drivers by using a floppy disk.

    or

    in the BIOS, set SATA Configuration to IDE Emulation mode, not AHCI or RAID
     
  18. Bausk

    Bausk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    11,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    Trying this now.

    edit:I see one area where it says "Main SATA: Fujitsu MHW2120BH-(S1)" but nowhere to change the configuration.

    How do I create a floppy with the SATA drivers on it... as in where do I get them?

    I can't find drivers for download on Fujitsu's site. :(
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2008
  19. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Neither of those circumstances apply to the OP's problem. What I said, does apply.

    Pick nits that matter.
     
  20. Bausk

    Bausk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    11,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    I downloaded the files I needed from Gateways site, made the boot disk (I think)... and the laptop doesn't have a floppy drive. :rofl: :wtc:
     
  21. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    you could use nLite and make a copy of the XP disk with those drivers integrated

    have you tried changing the SATA config in the BIOS?
    It varies to any system,... just look for something that says AHCI, RAID, and set it to IDE emulation.
     
  22. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    um, no. It does matter. Because it's a vista machine so it's either SATA.. where xp may or may not have a driver for the controller. Or it could be XP, where xp may or may not have a driver for the controller.

    so actually, what you said is worthless and irrelevant. No surprise, really.
     
  23. Bausk

    Bausk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    11,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    I'm not seeing where I can change the SATA config anywhere in the BIOS menu. It doesn't say AHCI, RAID, or IDE anywhere.

    Is nLite something I can download? Going to search on that now...

    Someone else just told me to put the info from the floppy on a cd, which sounds fine but it asks for the drivers during installation. Can I boot from that disc? Might as well give it a shot.
     
  24. Bausk

    Bausk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    11,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    How do I use nLite and make a copy of the XP disk with those drivers integrated?

    edit: I'm running nLite now and I'm at the section where I can integrate the drivers. Do I use the ones they recommended for the boot disk?
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2008
  25. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    looks like you are in the right direction

    yes, just use those files you got from Gateway and integrate them

    what is the exact model of the laptop? I'll try to look for the SATA mode setting.
    it's still better to know this just in case the nLite way fails
     

Share This Page