installing a capacitor?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by perfectgetaway, Jun 21, 2006.

  1. perfectgetaway

    perfectgetaway New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando
    hey i just got a 5 farad cap off ebay and was wondering if anyone had any tips or guides to install it myself?

    thanks.
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I don't know car audio, but if I was doing an electronic
    project that required such a huge capacity cap,
    I would either solder or use some sort of post and clamp connection.

    Although wire nuts can handle quite a bit of amperage,
    I wouldn't use them in a car environment. They are meant
    for a stationary connection.
     
  3. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    what do you want to know? is it the alumapro cap? if so, screw it down, then charge it and hook it up.
     
  4. rebs

    rebs shares AIDS OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    120,495
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    CA
    dot.

    MAKE SURE YOU PAY ATTENTION TO THE TERMINALS BEING + OR -
     
  5. rebs

    rebs shares AIDS OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    120,495
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    CA
    :uh:
     
  6. perfectgetaway

    perfectgetaway New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando
    im just a noob at this and my local shop is full of assholes. just was wondering what the basic steps of hooking it up would be...haha i dont know what to do
     
  7. rebs

    rebs shares AIDS OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    120,495
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    CA
    You have a power cable from your battery, and you have a ground cable, the cap goes in line of these cables.


    battery/ground========cap=====amp
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    You're the one who said to watch the + or -

    Talk about duh....


    I didn't think anyone could not know where the cap goes.

    I mean, if you've heard of using one, you have to have
    heard how and why, no?
     
  9. perfectgetaway

    perfectgetaway New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando
    its not that i didnt know how. i just wanted some tips or guides to help me not fuck it up. anyhow got it in last night. looks pretty sweet, and the bass hits harder and cleaner so it was definatly a good add to the system. might do pics sometime
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    don't use a capacitor. It's usually used as only a band-aid to fix a problem. And it can introduce further problems by stressing the electrical system further. Remember, once it discharges, it now must be re-charged, increasing load on an otherwise over-loaded electrical system.

    Do the big-three upgrade first.
     
  11. Arc

    Arc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UF/SRQ
    ummmmmmmm DOT!

    read: http://forum.sounddomain.com/ubb/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=5;t=007801
     
  12. ad kapone

    ad kapone New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    jollyogre speaks truth, big three first
     
  13. ad kapone

    ad kapone New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. ad kapone

    ad kapone New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. ad kapone

    ad kapone New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    then add your capacitor
     
  17. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    actually, I would never recommend a capacitor.
     
  18. perfectgetaway

    perfectgetaway New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando
    i didnt check this thread in time enough before my friend and i installed it. should look into doin big three sometime soon tho. thanks for the help everyone.
     
  19. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    great.
     
  20. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    if you research it beyond the fanboys that say "audiobahn is good", then you would see that a capacitor is actually a STRAIN on your electrical system.
     

Share This Page