installing 2 dvd drives

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by juvental604, Jul 5, 2007.

  1. juvental604

    juvental604 I like to pee upside down OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    My friends having problems setting his 2 dvd drives up . He tried one as slave and one as master and its not detecting in the motherboard at all. Anyone know what could be the problem?
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Do they both work when only one is used?
     
  3. juvental604

    juvental604 I like to pee upside down OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    yup they both work separately
     
  4. jimbo_jones

    jimbo_jones New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has he tried jumpering both to CS (cable select)?
    Maybe a bad cable?
     
  5. jvinsepa

    jvinsepa IT Crew, Corvette crew

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reading, PA area
    are the master and slave on the correct position on the cable? THe master has to go on the far end and the slave on the near end
     
  6. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    I thought that was only true when using cable select...
     
  7. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    When using CS then BOTH drives are put to CS. There is no 'master/slave'.

    When NOT using CS then you have Master/slave. Master is ALWAYS on the end of the cable. Slave is ALWAYS in the middle of the cable.

    If you look at the cable you will see that the slave isn't really in the middle, it is more like 2/3 the way on the cable. The end FARTHEST from the slave ALWAYS gets plugged into the motherboard.
     
  8. jvinsepa

    jvinsepa IT Crew, Corvette crew

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reading, PA area
    when I said "near end" I meant after the mobo. The motherboard gets plugged into the side that has the longest length of cable after it, then the slave, then the master... or just set them BOTH to CS and not worry about it (the longest end still has to go into the motherboard though)
     
  9. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope. When using manual settings (Master/Slave), it doesn't matter what position on the cable the drives are connected to. You could have the middle connector plugged into the motherboard and have the two drives on opposite ends, if you wanted to. Only when using Cable Select (and both drives have to be set to Cable Select, yes) does the position of the drive on the cable make any difference at all.
     

Share This Page