Input needed

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bboyivy, Dec 23, 2002.

  1. bboyivy

    bboyivy Guest

    We got our first computer knowing nothing about them. We ended up getting an E Machine (yea i know, it sux). Needless to say its still here after 2 or so years. Problem is its not the fastest computer by a LONG shot. I was wondering would I be better off buying a new computer or modifying it???


    Here are the specs:


    E-Machine

    Intel celeron 366Mhz
    32MBsyncDRAM
    4.3GB HD
    40X Max cd-rom drive

    I dont think im up for building my own computer. I dont really know much and dont know anyone who can help me out if i run into trouble...Thanks in advance
     
  2. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    It depends on what you are using it for. If it is just web browsing and Office then get some more RAM.

    If you have any friends that know what they are doing, have them reformat it and reinstall your operating system. When you have a computer that long you end up with alot of stuff that is just taking up space. Reformating will make it as fast as when you first got it.

    If you want to play games or other stuff you mught want a new computer.
     
  3. JimboJones

    JimboJones Guest

    I agree with Ron. It really depends on what you are using it for. RAM is cheap and that is an easy upgrade to at least add some speed to that. If you just want an internet/office machine, then it isn't to bad. If you want to play newer games and such, then a new machine is in order. I would not suggest trying to modify a machine like that because they have too many proprietary parts that will keep new stuff from fitting or working. Just my $0.02.
     
  4. event::woer

    event::woer Βanned bу Suρer Mοderators

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    8,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Collegeville, PA
    you cant modify emachines
     
  5. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    u can, but its limited.

    hdds, cdroms, ram, (v.card if it has agp), have some pci slots.

    but nothing major... ive even seen emachines with the cpu soddered to them... :hs:
     
  6. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :o Turns out I don't have the slowest computer on the board....
     
  7. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would usually agree with what has been alread said - except that your machine is only 366MHz - I just saw a brand new emachines w/a 2GHz celeron for $400 this weekend - you might as well get a new one
     
  8. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    You can get a nice system for a very low cost. I would just get a new one.
     
  9. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    The bump from hell. :eek3:

    I agree with what I already posted. :o :o
     

Share This Page