Infamous looks really mediocre on my tv

Discussion in 'Gamers' Pulse' started by CrazyMook, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. CrazyMook

    CrazyMook OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22,043
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    a buddy of mine (lemmy) brought to my attention the fact that Infamous looks noticeably worse on my Samsung 61in DLP (led version)....ive been complaining how the game looks jaggy and not as clean and sean finally confirmed it...no settings really seem to fix anything and nothing in the tv settings really correct it. i tried game mode and that doesnt do jack...i think my 360 looks fine but who knows. could an hdmi cable be bad? i plan on resetting both the tv and the ps3 settings tonight and start from scratch but i'm out of ideas.

    thoughts? aside from the generic OT ones such as "buy a better tv"


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. CrazyMook

    CrazyMook OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22,043
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    and i wish i could say the camera is making it look worse then it really is :hs:
     
  3. forgotmyname

    forgotmyname Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    13,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    How old is your PS3.
    Could be the graphics chip starting to fail.
     
  4. CrazyMook

    CrazyMook OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22,043
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    also, if those pics are w/ the tv's "edge enhancement" feature on. it sharpens things up and to a degree looks better in motion. w/ it off everything is softer and not as crisp
     
  5. CrazyMook

    CrazyMook OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22,043
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    more than a year. maybe 2 years
     
  6. s34s0ns

    s34s0ns OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    8,029
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bay Area
    same thing happened to me... you probably already know this, but the advice that was given to me was to check every resolution option on the ps3.

    They might have gotten reset so you're displaying at 410.

    Check them all and it will display at 700or whatever it's made for.

    I only had 1080 selected and it was fucked up looking like a ps1 gmae.


    EDIT" wierd thing actually, i was at the same hospital point when it happened to me.
     
  7. CrazyMook

    CrazyMook OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22,043
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    when i start the game, the input on my tv switches from 1080p to 720p....i suppose i could double check that again when i get home
     
  8. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. CrazyMook

    CrazyMook OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22,043
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    mine doesnt look NEARLY that bad. good god
     
  10. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well he has the added problem of playing it on a computer monitor with 1680x1050 resolution so that is making it much worse.
     
  11. CrazyMook

    CrazyMook OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22,043
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    hmm, that thread made a good point. i gotta check and see what my sharpness is turned to. i used to have it at zero but its probably jacked back up to factory spec
     
  12. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, try changing your PS3 resolution to 720p like season said - almost all 360/ps3 games are in 720p anyways.
     
  13. CrazyMook

    CrazyMook OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22,043
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    the tv shows the input switching to 720 once it leaves the dashboard

    also, i suppose the ps3 could be really really dusty. gonna try cleaning it a bit too
     
  14. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes but sometimes weird shit happens. I would still try setting the overall PS3 resolution to 720p and see what it looks like then.
     
  15. CrazyMook

    CrazyMook OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22,043
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    will do
     
  16. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good luck!

    Unless there's something wrong with your TV or your PS3 I don't think it should look bad, most likely it's some weird setting on one of them that's fucked up.
     
  17. CrazyMook

    CrazyMook OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22,043
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    ya. i'm gonna dick around w/ it tonight and see what i can sees
     
  18. s34s0ns

    s34s0ns OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    8,029
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bay Area
    It's not the tv's resolution, change the ps3 display settings... check every box for every resolution, i think there are 5 or 6.

    ...and it will go to the highest display compatable to each game.

    for example: if you only have 1080 selected for infamous, it won't display in hd at all because it reverts to the highest setting checked that's supported.
     
  19. stkorn97

    stkorn97 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    19,649
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    St. Charles, IL
    buy a better tv :hsugh:
     
  20. Chanandler Bong

    Chanandler Bong OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    47,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    isn't it just the game itself

    the demo wasn't exactly pretty :(
     
  21. GamerAsh

    GamerAsh SKATE crew

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England, UK
    Lol, look at the screens.
     
  22. stkorn97

    stkorn97 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    19,649
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    St. Charles, IL
    looks great on my tv :dunno: when comparing mine to his, its crazy how much worse his looks. and yes, im going off what i saw with my own eyes cause i played on both his and mine within a few hours of each other
     
  23. CrazyMook

    CrazyMook OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    22,043
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
  24. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,807
    Likes Received:
    7
    your graphics chip might be overheating
     
  25. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try taking your PS3 to your friend's house. If it looks shitty there then it's your PS3, if it looks like his then it's your TV.

    Or have him bring his PS3 over to your house.
     

Share This Page