SRS Incredibly difficult time in job hunt. Cover Letter?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Nev, Aug 25, 2009.

1. Nev

Nev OT Supporter

I've been out of school for 1.5 years now with an accounting degree. I bartended for a while, and now I'm working in retail management but I'd like to get a job that pertains to my degree. It seems that being out of school this long with no direct experience in the field makes it impossible to get a job.

I'm having an especially difficult time writing a cover letter for an accounting job when I have no experience and have been out of school so long. Is anyone really good with this stuff that could give me some pointers or put me in the right direction? I keep trying to get it started, but I'm struggling bad and its taking me hours to get anywhere.

The current job I have is basically eating my soul, and I need to get out ASAP.

2. blackbirdbeatle

blackbirdbeatle New Member

Can't you move into a more regional management or corporate role within the company you are at now or within other retail companies, if not a straight up accounting position with them?

I know that turnover for retail at all levels where I'm at is high. If you are good other companies pick you off quick and there's always spaces for district managers, corporate, etc...

I'm your opposite though. I too have an accounting degree but accounting eats at my soul and I love retail at the higher levels. I even like dealing with dickhead customers at the managerial level because I can screw with them. But my time in retail was short lived as I moved onto my own thing. I also love bartending.

I'll post some samples of cover letters later. I repeat this time and time again but get the 'Expert' series of books. The resumes and cover letters are amazing visually and you can pick and choose the best methods that fit your skills.

3. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter