Import a large databse into MYSQL

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by AJP, Feb 3, 2006.

  1. AJP

    AJP 7-1 LOL Green Gay OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    13,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    I have a 46mb database I need to import in using phpmyadmin. The problem is they say thelargest I can import from there is 10mb. So how do I import something larger? There has to be a way.
     
  2. projectalpha

    projectalpha 二號 Stunna

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    17,671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
  3. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    send it up as a compressed gzip file. text compresses very well, and should be less then 10mb.

    i cant remember but i believe a 1gb txt file of Pi can be reduced to under 100mb or so.
     
  4. AJP

    AJP 7-1 LOL Green Gay OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    13,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    I tried that but it still wont do it. I think it can tell the final size and that is what matters.
     
  5. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I doubt it... Do you have FTP or SCP or anything? You should just be able to shoot the DB up that way and then use phpmyadmin to import it locally. If phpmyadmin is all you have access to, you should give the sysadmin a shot to the nuts.
     
  6. projectalpha

    projectalpha 二號 Stunna

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    17,671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Did you use the php script I linked above?
     
  7. AJP

    AJP 7-1 LOL Green Gay OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    13,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    tell me how
     
  8. AJP

    AJP 7-1 LOL Green Gay OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    13,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    yes I have ftp access, care to explain how to do it. I know almost nithing about SQL
     
  9. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    You don't need to know anything about SQL. Upload the DB to your FTP directory and browse to it locally using PHPmyAdmin to import it.

    edit: I've never used phpmyadmin - I'd hope to God it can import a DB locally
     
  10. projectalpha

    projectalpha 二號 Stunna

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    17,671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    You set up your phpymadmin, right? Just use the login, pw, db name, to fill in the text boxes on db_upload.php, then browse for your large sql file. Then upload it.
     
  11. projectalpha

    projectalpha 二號 Stunna

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    17,671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    It has a limit.
     
  12. RaginBajin

    RaginBajin Have you punched a donkey today?

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    sounds like you will have to do it via the command line or there is some sort of quota on the size of your databases.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2006

Share This Page